We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Inn at Penn while visiting Drexel University this weekend. If you are visiting UPenn or Drexel, the location is perfect. Given its location, just about everything you need or want is within walking distance. The rooms are very clean and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable and the room comes with most amenities included in the price (an iPad, free wi-fi, bottled water and coffee/coffee maker and in-room refrigerator). We were able to check in early with no problems. The staff, from the front desk to the concierge to room service to the valets, are all very helpful and extremely pleasant. Should our son decide on Drexel, we know where we will be staying when we visit him over the next 4 years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sriv726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights during Thanksgiving 2012 , would have loved to stay here longer and each time we are in Philadelphia simply because it has the best on campus location to visit our daughter on Upenn, her housing is across the road .
But the price at most other times , other than I assume these lean holiday dates , makes it beyond our budget . The rooms and decor are brilliant . Only two other issues other than price , no breakfast included and very expensive valet parking .

Room Tip: If you have a child studying at Upenn, then nothing to beat this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prateekchawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Helpful, friendly, and courteous front desk. Room nicely apponted and clean. Towels and sheets nice and plush. Bed and pillows comfortable. Complimentary in room wifi and bottle water. Location is perfect for u penn and drexel. Early check in was no problem. Really appreciate our comfotable stay of 3 nights. Taxi ride to independence area was about 10-15 mins and $11 without tip. Taxi to amtrak 30th st station is about 10 mins and $7 w/o tip to go to nyc/boston. We took airport train and it was an easy walk to hotel, about 10 mins, from univ city station where we got off.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonTravelFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Penn for one night in connection with a visit to UPenn. The hotel is perfectly located adjacent to the campus. The rooms are very clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. The service is exceptional -- from the front desk to housecleaning to the concierge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erastus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stay here almost always when I visit Penn. The hotel is sandwiched between Samson and Walnut street, so right on the North side in the middle of campus. Rooms are nice and there is lots of open common space. Definitely recommend a drink in the living room downstairs. Rooms are very comforable and well appointed. Never any street noise issues.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

excellent location adjacent to UPenn. very inviting library/bar for relaxing, reading, etc. rooms/bathrooms a bit small, but very comfortable. proximity to campus is biggest selling point. outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFHLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you're coming to Philadelphia for a Penn gathering, your true choices for a campus hotel are the Inn at Penn or the Sheraton. The Inn is very well appointed, the food is very good indeed and the service is terrific. The bed was too soft for me, but that's my experience at most hotels, because I like a rock hard mattress. It's a low-level building, so your views aren't very good, but seeing the Philadelphia skyline isn't why you'd stay here. Virtually every guest has something to do with the University. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willie90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $154 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing