We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel in the U. Penn Area of Philly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Inn at Penn to your Saves list
Hilton Inn at Penn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Wi-Fi + In-Room iPad
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel in the U. Penn Area of Philly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel was excellent. Very nice room. Breakfast bar was nicely organized and service was great. Check in/out was very quick.

The one downside is the price. Very expensive and you can get much cheaper rates if you stay in downtown Philly. However, if you want to stay right in the middle of U.Penn and you are OK with the price, the hotel if VERY nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable. There are shops and restaurants a few steps from the hotel. It is usually a bit pricey for us but we got a great deal this time and were able to stay. We had drinks at the hotel restaurant - also a bit pricey but the wine was nice and we enjoyed chatting with the bartender. If you want to stay in University City, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Found this hotel very comfortable. Great staff, very well located, and plenty of interesting places nearby. Accomodated a business conference very comfortably. Rooms were excellent, clean, new, and had great beds. Hotel-provided food was ordinary, but not objectionable. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Leave time to walk around the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the best place to stay when visiting UPenn. The rooms are updated, clean and comfortable. We haven't eaten on property but there are plenty of choices to eat in University City. The living room on the lobby floor is a great place to relax and receive free wifi. We checked in early and they also allowed us a later check out with no hesitation. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night at this hotel while doing a college visit to UPenn. Obviously, for our purposes the location couldn't be better (you are on Penn's campus with the college bookstore right downstairs), but what was particularly nice about the hotel was the friendly service we received from the hotel staff. Despite our brief stay we were made to feel very welcome. The amenities are excellent - with in-room iPads, free wifi, and lovely bathrooms. The public spaces are comfortable and gracious, so there is plenty of room to relax outside of your room. The Museum of Contemporary Art is directly across the street. I would definitely stay here again. Even if my destination was not UPenn there is easy public transit right into the heart of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Philadelphia is a charming old town and I love the Inn at Penn. Being a Hilton hotel it has all the perks of a five star hotel: good furnishings, good service, good breakfast etc, but being just an 'inn' so to speak, it is cosy and comfortable. I like the reading area when you can lounge about near the lobby of the hotel. The rooms are also spacious, well-kept, and comfortable. Staff are ever-ready to help, and breakfast is excellent. While the location is not really near city centre, it is located near the Wharton School of University of Pennsylvania. They have a nice campus to jog through in the mornings. Love the inroom ipad too, but didn't get to use it much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here twice for two marathons. Excellent rooms, room service, and customer service. They even let us have late checkout without an extra fee. The valets and front desk staff go beyond expectations to satisfy guests. We will be back in the fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#12 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing