We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location for visiting Drexel or U Penn”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable. There are shops and restaurants a few steps from the hotel. It is usually a bit pricey for us but we got a great deal this time and were able to stay. We had drinks at the hotel restaurant - also a bit pricey but the wine was nice and we enjoyed chatting with the bartender. If you want to stay in University City, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Found this hotel very comfortable. Great staff, very well located, and plenty of interesting places nearby. Accomodated a business conference very comfortably. Rooms were excellent, clean, new, and had great beds. Hotel-provided food was ordinary, but not objectionable. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Leave time to walk around the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the best place to stay when visiting UPenn. The rooms are updated, clean and comfortable. We haven't eaten on property but there are plenty of choices to eat in University City. The living room on the lobby floor is a great place to relax and receive free wifi. We checked in early and they also allowed us a later check out with no hesitation. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night at this hotel while doing a college visit to UPenn. Obviously, for our purposes the location couldn't be better (you are on Penn's campus with the college bookstore right downstairs), but what was particularly nice about the hotel was the friendly service we received from the hotel staff. Despite our brief stay we were made to feel very welcome. The amenities are excellent - with in-room iPads, free wifi, and lovely bathrooms. The public spaces are comfortable and gracious, so there is plenty of room to relax outside of your room. The Museum of Contemporary Art is directly across the street. I would definitely stay here again. Even if my destination was not UPenn there is easy public transit right into the heart of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Philadelphia is a charming old town and I love the Inn at Penn. Being a Hilton hotel it has all the perks of a five star hotel: good furnishings, good service, good breakfast etc, but being just an 'inn' so to speak, it is cosy and comfortable. I like the reading area when you can lounge about near the lobby of the hotel. The rooms are also spacious, well-kept, and comfortable. Staff are ever-ready to help, and breakfast is excellent. While the location is not really near city centre, it is located near the Wharton School of University of Pennsylvania. They have a nice campus to jog through in the mornings. Love the inroom ipad too, but didn't get to use it much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here twice for two marathons. Excellent rooms, room service, and customer service. They even let us have late checkout without an extra fee. The valets and front desk staff go beyond expectations to satisfy guests. We will be back in the fall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed at quite a few hotels and this by far is my favorite. Everything about this place was wonderful and I look forward to going back. Was in town for my boyfriends birthday to explore someplace new (we've never been to Philadelphia). I chose this hotel based on the pictures and the wonderful reviews and was not disappointed in any way. The rooms are tastefully and comfortably furnished and have pretty much everything you could need, if theres anything else you could just call the front desk. The hallways are long and even those are spacious and there is a good amount of space in between each room, so much so that I never heard any noise from any surrounding rooms during the 3 nights I was there; I began to wonder if it was just us in the hotel. I did not get to sample breakfast or the fitness center, but I promise we will when we go back. I just have to also mention the great level of customer service there is in this hotel. We were greeted warmly by pretty much everyone we came in contact with starting with Jovan who checked us in, she was very pleasant. Then there was Kenyatta; she was awesome. She helped me make my boyfriends birthday special and she was also very personable and enagaging while we stayed. We would stop at the desk just to talk to her while we were there. Then there were two gentlemen who worked downstairs near valet parking, but stood inside the sliding doors. Unfortunately I did not get their names but one was bald (I feel bad saying it like that) and the other one wore a fuzzy black hat? All in all EVERYONE there was personable, and so very easy to talk to. Their helpfulness was so very appreciated and my boyfriend and I truly look forward to going back. THANKS SO MUCH.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a higher floor for a good view of the city area. The sun also shines so nicely in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerriBerri316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,627 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#10 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,403 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $200 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing