We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a Business Meeting”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a Business Meeting”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Nice facility and response staff for a business meeting. Our meeting room was flooded due to a broken pipe overnight, and the hotel staff was able to relocate us on very short notice.

What is somewhat unusual and very helpful is a package of various adapters and connectors for electronic devices that allows one to charge and connect one's electronic gadgets to the flat screen TV. There was a movie on Netflix that I was able to watch on the large flat screen TV in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CannotEatPrestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    352
    78
    27
    10
See reviews for
430
204
92
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The location is great. This is not a 5 star hotel (obviously!) but an excellent 4 star hotel. It is high tech and green. The rooms come with iPads which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Affiliation with UPenn can get you a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillionsRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This Hilton serves the UPenn community and is part of a full multi/use block developed along Walnut Street directly across from the Penn Campus (which inlcudes the main book store). Definitely convenient for campus/student visits but we have found it hard to book in the past when Penn is hosting events/conferences and holding blocks of rooms. I think they charge a permium here relative to the other hotel in the neighborhood with not much value added. So don't be disappointed if you can't get in here. You might pay less in Center City which has much more to offer in the way of restarants, etc. and is a short cab or bus ride away. Rooms here are standard for a new Hilton, quiet, ipad technology to summon meals, etc. (We never did get our extra pillows, although the Ipad said we did?!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McWarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband, son, and I stayed at this hotel during a college tour visit. We were in Philadelphia to look at Drexel University and decided to stay across the street on the U of Penn campus.

The hotel is in a downtown location. Parking was $39 for the night. When we checked in, the front desk clerk acknowledged my husband's previous stay. Our room included two free breakfasts but since we had our son with us, she gave us an extra coupon for breakfast so the 3 of us could eat. This was very much appreciated.

The room had two double beds which served our purpose. The room was recently re-done and looked great. A robe and some chocolates were on one of the beds which had been turned down. The bathroom was large and was stocked with supplies.

The nicest part of the room was the iPad on the desk which had our name welcoming us on the home page. I was able to check in for our flight home the next day without having to go to the business center. If needed, room service could be ordered or anything else done on the iPad. It really was a nice touch.

Breakfast was wonderful. An omelet chef made items to order. Not only did the buffet have the usual breads, fruit, breakfast meats, etc... but there was a tray of smoked salmon and nice cheeses. The service was excellent. It was a great way to start our day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnati_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Ideal location for visiting Drexel University or the University of Pennsylvania. This hotel offers a "Campus Philly" rate for families visiting campuses in the area so be sure and ask about it. There was also a Campus Philly gift bag when we arrived which included a reusable bag and maps for the area. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and very modern. Well appointed bathroom with large, thick towels, nice toiletries and terry cloth bath robes. Interactions with staff were exceptional - they were helpful and professional with all of our requests and questions. Very quiet on the floors, especially considering the hotel's proximity to the universities (they have signs posted all over letting guests know that they observe quiet hours from 11:00 pm on). I was so happy about that considering a recent hotel experience while visiting a campus in Springfield, Mo. where we were woken up at 2:00am by a group of drunk young people returning to their room, bringing a party with them! Lots of restaurants within walking distance as well as shops and green spaces to walk around and relax. I can't think of any negatives for this hotel (and I'm very picky)! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to family and friends. They have 2 restaurants in the hotel but we didn't try either of them since there were so many food options in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Line, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Penn for a friends wedding in December. The hotel is located on the campus of U Penn and the area is very safe. The lobby of the hotel was expansive and the front desk staff were very friendly. We had a package deal that included parking, full breakfast and a credit for the onsite restaurant. The restaurant looked very upscale, however, we were unable to dine due to scheduling conflicts. The front desk manager kindly reduced our bill by the price of the credit upon check out. In fact, all of the staff, especially the dining staff, were extremely knowledgeable and courteous.

The only reason that I am giving the hotel two stars is due to one disgusting detail that was overlooked. We also noticed dust in the vents, but this did not bother me as much since they also offered allergy free rooms. Anyway, before leaving any hotel, my husband and I always check the room for any items we may have left behind. When I lifted the top sheet from the bed, I found a matress pad with a few blood stains about the size of large pancakes. I could not believe that a Hilton hotel would overlook something as important as this. The top sheets were clean, so I knew that housekeeping saw the dirty matress and simply covered it up with clean sheets...to avoid extra work??? Not sure. Anyway, just the thought of the sheets now has us checking the bedding prior to sleeping. Very gross indeed. Shame, because otherwise, it was an excellent find in the city of Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Thoroughly check bedding prior to sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fodhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

A world class university deserves a world class hotel. Perhaps one day Penn will get one. Until then there's the Hilton Inn at Penn, which is an Ivy League twist on the Hilton model. Rooms are modern, well appointed (ours had an iPad (without a safari app!)), and clean, a cut above the standard Marriott/Hilton rooms with some lovely design touches. The lobby and library areas are paneled and aspire to a clubby atmosphere. But this isn't the Union League. It's a nice chain hotel on a college campus, and it was built in the late 1990s. Two and a half cheers for Ivy League Kitsch! A word on the staff -- very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickynotsnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,925 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing