We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where novelty meets old-school”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Penn, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 27, 2011

First thing you are going to notice in this hotel is wonderful interior of building in somewhat heritage style. But make no mistake, you just arrived to modern hotel with great (in both terms of quality and size) rooms. Check-in staff was friendly and explained everything what we could possibly ask, including iPad functions (this iPad thing is really good, I wish more hotels had this). Internet is free, that is huge plus. Breakfast were good and staff (again) great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our family needed a good location for a visit to CHOP (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia). We have previously stayed at the Sheraton University City and at Penn Tower on similiar occassions. The Inn at Penn was by far and away the best hotel for our needs and the only place we will stay for future visits. The hotel is impeccably clean and the staff was extremely accomodating. The rooms are redone in a contemporary style but are very comfortable, especially the bedding. There are tablet computers in the room for ordering room service or finding nearby services. There are several coffee shops, convenience stores and phamacies within just a block or two of the hotel which was also helpful to us. Beautiful hotel, helpful staff, great location ,,, an excellent choice for families visting either the nearby hospitals or the university itself. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank czb_JerseyShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights for a conference we were attending in Philadelphia.

We were immediately impressed with how classy the hotel looked when we walked inside. Check-in was fairly straightforward, however there just happened to be another guest with the same name staying there also which was easy enough to straighten out once the guy on the desk actually checked my booking reference.

We had a King Room on the 4th floor. It was lovely. It had a very comfortable king bed, desk, large tv, fridge, coffee making machine, free wifi, and lovely clean bathroom with big shower. There were also robes in the cupboard and an iPad which allowed you to access the guest services. We tried ordering room service on the iPad but it didn't work and we ended up going out anyway.

We had breakfast 2 mornings in the restaurant which had a lovely buffet and also a chef who was able to prepare eggs however you wanted them. Lots of fruit was available including a big tray of bananas (fantastic for us Aussie's who haven't had bananas in months), cereals, bagels, cakes, muffins, bacon and eggs, french toast, yoghurt etc.

Our only criticism of this hotel is that it was a little away from the main part of Philly, we did have a free shuttle to the conference each day which made things easy for us. Also, other than the restaurants in the hotel, there wasn't many dining choices within walking distance of the hotel.

All the staff we encountered during our stay were very polite and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babybeatlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you have business or family at the University of Pennsylvania, this the ideal Hotel as the location is perfect. It was recently renovated, so the rooms are adequate, with new bathrooms and super soft beds. Even if not part of the Hotel, Pod restaurant is in the same building and I liked the food there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

After reading previous reviews, we knew this was supposed to be a nicely remodeled property 5 minutes away from all Philadelphia's activities but were pleasantly surprised when we entered this beautiful hotel in the quiet part of the University City. The entrance is stately and welcoming. Valet is immediately at your car willing to help. Front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. Everything is spotlessly clean, thoughtfully designed with modern rich feel all around.

We asked for a quiet room and were lead to a room at the very end of the hall on the top 6th floor. It was two doors away from the fire entrance and the front desk employee who showed us the room told us that there will be security guards using that stairs throughout the night. She offered to show other rooms and was very understanding and accommodating. We picked the room and were very happy with the choice. The night was extremely quiet.

The rooms are very modern (as others mentioned). Amenities are top quality including dawn pillows and blanket. Bathroom is extremely clean, towels are soft and thick, two shower heads (one removable which is now rare in american hotels), water pressure is incredibly good.

The hotel is definitely targeted towards UPenn visitors but can be a great retreat place for couples in the city. The only missing part is a swimming pool and sauna but fitness room was good equipped and clean as everything else in the hotel.

Two small glitches in the hotel service: 1. valet - $40 overnight parking and slow car delivery in the morning (had to wait for almost 30 minutes). 2. housekeeping - we ordered extra towels via iPad and did not receive them in 5 minutes as the iPad "advised" us we would, instead we got a phone call around 1AM advising us that the towels will be hanged on the doorknob.

Other than above mentioned service glitches, I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and will return soon.

Room Tip: even number rooms are on a quieter side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovePlanAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I had stayed here before renovations and thought this was a nice hotel then. Now it is even nicer. Bathroom was sleek and modern. Room was nice, comfortable and quiet. The front desk service was top notch. I had a payment problem (my fault) that took about a half hour to resolve at the front desk upon arrival. Alicia smiled the entire time, told me what to do next, and very patiently helped me through to success. Hotel is in a great section of Philly, a nice walk to Amtrak and CHOP too. If I ever find myself back in the area, this will be my first choice - thanks in great part to Alicia's kind and efficient help!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I'm writing this review from the hotel using their free wifi. Stayed at the Inn while attending a course at Wharton (Penn's business school).

Checkin: easy
Valet parking: quick and easy, though expensive
Room: very comfy, nice furniture/bedding, fridge (but no minibar stuff in it), in in-room Lavazza coffee maker
Bed: firm but cushy, very nice
Quiet: a little noise from Walnut St but nothing a pair of foam earplugs won't handle
Bathroom: very clean, modern; nice toiletry amenities, good towels, good shower
Decor: pretty arts and crafts style decor in the common areas and more modern furniture in the rooms
Workout room: very nice; great free weights and lots of modern cardio equipment

Other items of note:
- room uses the "Evolve" power/lighting system, which means you have to insert a room key in a slot to power the lights and HVAC. TIP: put a library card or grocery store membership card in the slot while you're out to keep the a/c on at a maintenance temp (e.g. 78 degrees) so it's not cooking and humid when you come back
- rooms have iPads to replace the old binder of hotel info. Kinda annoying, actually. But you can order room service, request maintenance/housekeeping, schedule valet service, etc. from the iPad or from the front desk via phone. Oddly, the valet folks tell you to call them rather than promote the iPad app for scheduling of service... management might want to train their staff on promoting the iPad, since the use of the iPad is clearly a marketing campaign the hotel is trying to feature.

At any rate, this hotel was very nice, very comfortable, and elegant. Well situated in proximity to Penn and Drexel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,697 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Penn, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Penn, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $200 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Penn, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Penn, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing