We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,181)
Filter reviews
2,182 results
Traveler rating
897
827
294
109
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
827
294
109
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center across the street free breakfast homeless people breakfast staff reading terminal market self parking the breakfast area within walking distance hot breakfast liberty bell few blocks king suite front desk staff flower show yogurt independence hall
Filter
Updating list...
1,794 - 1,799 of 2,182 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My mother, son and I recently stayed at this hotel for four nights. It was a nice location--within walking distance of Chinatown, the Historic District, Convention Center, etc. The rooms were nice and clean, albeit a bit small, but this hotel had to be squeezed into the space available. Breakfast was good and the internet access worked well. However, one thing which was not good at all, was the pool. I took my son down there one night for a relaxing swim. The pool was so cloudy that you could not see beyond the first step. You could not see the bottom of the pool. The spa was in just as bad of condition, with an oily film sitting on the surface. Since neither the bottom of the pool or spa could be seen, neither were safe to swim in. I complained to the front desk staff immediately, but as of our departure date, conditions had not improved. I was disappointed in this as my son and I would have enjoyed a swim in their pool. That being said, I would recommend this hotel, as long as you don't want to use their pool or spa facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Small noisy hotel rooms with thin walls. The view was terrible. The eggs were horrible, bacon was thin and greasy. Waffles were okay and apples and bananas were available throughout the day. Staff was non-existent other than free popcorn. Parking was expensive at $24 per day and the small lot was located 1 block away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC_traveler2_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Enjoyed stay large room and bathroom courtesy breakfast reasonable some more hot options (Only 2 each days which varies) Free internet in basement option of free breakfast bag on weekdays from reception from 5.30 each morning

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a nice hotel as Hampton's go, with a good staff and a very nice and reasonably priced breakfast-there's no need to go out for breakfast because the options at the hotel are so good. The big issue is the location and surrounding area. Lots of homeless people and the side streets are mostly deserted at night (although some excellent restaurants and the Reading Market at nearby).
I was in town for a convention at another hotel and didn't feel entirely comfortable walking back at night dressed in business attire. Nothing happened, but I was still uneasy. Definitely consider taking a cab if you want to stay here and do things out at night. But otherwise, a good deal for the city and the staff was generally very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42492Escamillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Bettter than expected. Nice hotel, pleasant helpful staff, very good breakfast choices. Close to Market and subway lines, moderate walk to old city area.

While the general location is convenient, the immediate 2 or 3 blocks around the hotel does not look very nice. We had no problems and felt safe enough during the day, but I can fully understand how people could feel uncomfortable, especially after dark. Probably would spend a few bucks and take a cab after hours.

Enjoyed our stay. Good value for money and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roam802674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews