We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,166 results
Traveler rating
888
823
293
107
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
823
293
107
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centeracross the streetfree breakfasthomeless peoplebreakfast staffreading terminal marketself parkingthe breakfast areawithin walking distancehot breakfastliberty bellfew blocksking suitefront desk staffflower showyogurtindependence hall
Filter
Updating list...
1,824 - 1,829 of 2,166 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The complimentary breakfasts were not great, with rubber-like eggs, but it was in a very nice location, with a nice view of the city from our room window on the ninth floor.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenandrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel is a bit on the older side and rooms are small, but clean. It was within walking distance of most of the tourist attractions. Self parking was relatively close. No complaints for an overnight stay, we just needed someplace to sleep. Breakfast was a bit hectic Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubiclewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for 2 nights for a wedding I was attending. My boyfriend is a Hilton Gold member and we used points to book the stay.

The wedding was about 8 blocks away down Race street, so the location was great. Also, I explored the city during the day and was able to walk to several tourist attractions and shopping and eating places. Great location!

My main complaint about the hotel was that a fire alarm went off on Saturday morning, and continued to go on and off for about 15 minutes. This was followed by an announcment from the front desk staff that the alarm was pulled and no evacuation was needed, but not before I had already called the front desk to ask what was going on.

Also, the walls are thinner than most Hampton Inns, and the doors make loud noises when the shut. I heard people coming in and out and talking through the hallway most of the evening.

I used the gym and indoor pool, and enjoyed both! Small selection of fitness equipment, but all new and in good shape. Nice size pool and hot tub. Great perks!

I was shocked that breakfast was not included, as that is usually a standard commodity at the Hampton Inn. Also shocked at the expensive parking option ($23 per night, no in and out priviledge).

All in all, an average to above average option for downtown Philly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgrassi, Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

The Hampton Inn Philadelphia offers a hot breakfast buffet every morning to its guests. This is a brand standard at all Hampton Inn's. Our parking rates are 10 to 15 dollars less than our competitors. At Hampton we strive to provide the best possible experience at the best possible cost for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Easy to access to all Philadelphia attractions by walk, simple and clean, didn't need more

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0_oParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed here while accompanying my husband on a business trip. Location-wise, the hotel is just a short walk from the convention center and the yummy restaurants at Reading Terminal Market. Also a 10-minute walk to the Phlash Trolley, which takes you all over town. The only downside to the location is its proximity to a homeless men's shelter about 1/2 block away. We never felt unsafe, but there were always a number of men hanging around outside the building. Also there's construction going on in the area. Our room on the 6th floor was fairly quiet, but occasionally we were awakened by typical city street noise in the early morning hours.

The service at the hotel was particularly good. Whenever we called down to the front desk about a matter, they promptly addressed it. The rooms were clean & comfortable. Breakfast was OK... more variety than some hotels but not top-notch cuisine by any means. We'd stay there again if we were on business at the convention center. There's a monitored parking lot for $20/day just up the block from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank ecpindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews