We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobby, Great Staff, Dated Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lobby, Great Staff, Dated Rooms”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This Hampton clearly has a refreshed lobby, attentive staff, and a good (if not great) location; also, the rate was great. That being said, while the room was completely adequate and functional, it was also really dated (decor and furnishings), which is the only major factor counting against it during an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indychamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Indychamps,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City.

I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our location, service and overall stay. Our team works very hard on keeping the hotel in top shape for our guests and your feedback will help continue to strive to ensure all our guest rooms meet and exceed our guest's expectations.

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    707
    248
    95
    48
See reviews for
591
347
84
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel using hhonors miles. Have been staying in Philly before and reading all the reports re. Philly hotels I was not very sure about what to expect. Hampton Inn at Race Str. proved very good -- warm and welcoming staff, nice amenities and clean and quiet room. Overall very satisfied

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank charalamp0sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear charalamp0sv,

Thank you for your feedback regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Philadelphia.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, België
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in june 2012. I can recommend this hotel to everybody. Good value hotel. Location is good. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was very nice. You can park your car across the street. I guess I payed $25/night. Rooms are big and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Jessydp,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. We were grateful to host you and your satisfaction and feedback are very important to us.

I have shared your feedback with our entire hotel team and I would like to make you aware that we use your feedback to continue to inspire the entire team to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations. Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel was in a convenient location. Staff was extremely friendly. Check-in was easy and quick. Provided us with umbrellas complimentary when it was raining. Complimentary breakfast was also very good. Beds were comfy. Sofa bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bikeramjit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Bikeramjit G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you and your feedback is very important to us.

I have shared your feedback with our team and we are all very excited to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience at our hotel. Again, thank you for the feedback and for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warminster, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in Hotel near Reading Terminal market in Philly.Clean place.Good value.Breakfast was realy nice.It has good location for walking to Philly sites.We stayed one nite.Bar was small but quiet.I would stay there again.We did get a 99.00 deal which was a good price for this loaction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Albert H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and amenities that the hotel offers. I have shared your review/comments with our entire hotel team.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed one night & got a great deal on TravelZoo. Hotel is ideally located and was within walking distance of all the touristy things we wanted to do. Walnut & Chestnut Streets are not far away for lots of good restaurants & shopping. Self-parking is $24, diagonally across the street from the hotel. Valet parking is $35.
The room was perfectly fine, clean and modern bathroom. Free internet & breakfast buffet. Lots of things to eat for breakfast, but not to our liking. Went over to the Reading Terminal Market, which has great food and coffee places.
Gave the hotel an average rating because of the check-in process. We arrived at 11:30 a.m. and was told that the room wasn't ready. Came back two hours later and it still wasn't ready. There was a family there who tried to check in at 9:30 a.m. and it seems unbelievable that at least one room wasn't cleaned by 1:30 p.m. Lots of very annoyed people in the lobby and only one person at the front desk. The manager was called, but never came. Yes, check-in is 4 p.m., but we've never had a hotel make us wait until the last moment to check us in. Seems to be a problem with the cleaning staff and communication between the front desk and house-keeping.
The front desk offered to take the bags until the room was ready, but caution. If they check in 2 bags they will issue you only one tag with a #2 written on it. The other bag is not identified with a tag begging the question, how can you be sure that someone else doesn't walk away with your bag. They seem to work on the honor system.

Room Tip: 11th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Teachexpat,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the deal you received and our location in the city. I am sorry to hear that you had such a struggle checking into our hotel and received less than spectacular service from our team. I can assure you that it is not standard for our guest to experience what you did attempting to check into the hotel. We strive to ensure every member of our team knows how much we value your business.

I am hopeful that you will continue using the Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia when your future travel plans bring you back to Philadelphia. On behalf of our team, we look forward to seeing you in the near future and apologize again for your arrival experience.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This location tends to be a bit off the beaten path yet it is centrally located.
The outside is plain, looks a bit dated but obviously it's been remodeled somewhat lately as the lobby was updated, modern and welcoming.
The room itself is well appointed, Hampton seems to often provide more value for the same money as other hotels and this one does not disappoint. The room seems fresh and up-to-date.

I only stayed one night, got in late, but was welcomed at the desk. In particular, Shalyn at the front desk was friendly and nice to deal with even at 11:30 at night.

All staff was friendly and attentive during my short stay. At this location, breakfast (included in rate) was particularly good with many selections and the staff kept things stocked even though it was busy.

I will definately consider staying here again in future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD_Clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear JD_Clayton,

Thank you for providing us with some valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It will be my pleasure to share your wonderful words regarding your experience with our management and team. I will be thrilled to personally acknowledge Shalyn for providing memorable service. Shalyn is a valuable member of our team and I greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of her service. Our entire team works very hard on making each and every guest stay a memorable stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing