We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying, But Hotel Needs Some Love!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stay at Hampton Inns all the time. The Hampton Philly Convention Center tries hard. The staff are the best, every one. They helped us get a great deal on a cab to Valley Forge and tried to give good advice on places to visit. We told them we were on foot and they suggested we visit Penn's Landing. This was a long walk and was only open 3 days a week, and not the day we were there! But they tried. The area around the hotel was deserted and had a lot of homeless folks around. They need a place to be but at night it was a bit unnerving. The room did not has as comfortable a bed as most Hampton's at this rate would have. The room while clean smelled of mildew and the AC unit was very noisy. The room was very clean and the lobby area was nice. Typical Hampton Breakfast and I found the service good. For the money there are better options in the area when you are paying their published rate. We were here for a large conference and this was one of the listed hotels. While on personal trips I always stay at Hampton, I will not try this one again as there are so many good options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rarmstrong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us while in Philly. We are glad we met your needs and provided a clean and confortable base while you were in town. All reviews are given to the staff and they will certainly enjoy your comments.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived at 4:00PM upon check in to find numerous cars in the drop-off parking area designated for hotel guests. I dropped my wife off to check in while I went to find parking. Upon my return, my wife was very displeased and offended by the whole check in experience. There was a long line with only one person working at the front desk. After a long wait, she showed our reservation on a print out that I made at home, online. She then asked if the room could stay on my credit card and the hotel rep answered 'no' with a nasty attitude. My wife then had to use her credit card for check-in. The initial room given to her was extremely noisy so she had to go back to request a different room. By that time, I had arrived from parking and had to spend more time going to the front desk to change the billing back to my credit card. In our room, the bathtub had a drainage problem and while showering the water filled up to my ankles. The pool had some kind of film on the top of the water, apparently due to lack of cleaning/maintenance. At breakfast, the line was extremely long causing a long wait time. We have stayed at Hampton Inns in the past, most recently at the location in Glen Mills, PA where we had a suite for our wedding and were very pleased with it as well as the entire experience there. Unfortunately the center city Philadelphia location did not meet the same standard and we were far from satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank incrediblesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us in Philly. Your comments will be reviewed by the entire staff and use it as a tool to improve the hotel. I certainly apologize for the
problems incurred and hope this doesn't deter you from using Hampton in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Hampton Inn was a decent hotel to stay in for 3 nights when we attended the US Open. Room rates were high in the area, but I managed to book a room for $115 using Priceline. There's nothing wrong with the hotel, but this was more than I'm used to paying in Philly, which includes many of the 4* hotels through Priceline.

The room was clean and the sleeping was quiet at night. The staff and internet were efficient. The location is great if attending the convention center. The location is not great if wanting to visit the restaurants and sights south of Market Street. The area going through the convention center at night is rather desolate. It didn't bother us, just more than we felt like walking after grabbing a bite to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn. This feedback is important to us and will be reviewed by the staff. I'm glad the service and the cleanliness of the hotel was up to Hampton's standard.
Thanks for staying with us.
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights fir the 4th of July weekend. The staff were fabulous, we had a nice quiet room, the valet parking was great (our car was loaded with valuable items and no one broke in) there was free water for all guests as you left for the day ....we needed it, it's darn hot in Philadelphia. Cookies on our return with orange or lemon flavoured water. The breakfast was good and the coffee was well stocked and HOT! ALWAYS! Thank you mr. Coffee man. We were conveniently located to Chinatown, the concert facility in Camden and the fireworks near the Art museum. It was a walk to everywhere, but we like to move our legs. This was a great stay in all respects.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temptationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for sharng your feedback with us concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philly. I'm very pleased the staff exceeded your expectations and the location was centrally located to meet your needs. I was busy with the water all weekend and it was "hot" in Philly..
Thanks for bsing OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved this Hampton. It's conveniently located next to Reading Terminal Market and a nice walk to the historical district. The staff was exceptional in all areas. Breakfast was awesome and what a nice surprise after a long day to come back to cookies, soft pretzels, and lemonade!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us concerning your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philly. I'm very pleased we provided the service you were looking for. I will certainly pass your comments to all the associates.
Thanks for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a great experience here, particularly the service we received from the staff. We thought our first room had a musty smell, and the front desk staff more than happily moved us--and upgraded us to a suite. Later in our stay, we walked in hot after a run and asked if there was any water around. CJ Jones (I think that was his name) went above and beyond and went looking for water bottles for us...not just room temperature ones (which they had at the desk), but he insisted on finding iced down ones. So nice of him!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your recent stay in Philly. I'm very pleased the staff made all the right moves from the desk to the breakfast room. I will certainly relay your comments to CJ.
Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean, fairly standard appointments, quiet, with comfortable air conditioning.

Would have appreciated refrigerator/ microwave but ok for a short stay.

Appreciated the quality of included breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback concerning the amenities of the hotel, as well as the great location.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $124 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing