We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,166)
Filter reviews
2,166 results
Traveler rating
888
823
293
107
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
823
293
107
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centeracross the streetfree breakfasthomeless peoplebreakfast staffreading terminal marketself parkingthe breakfast areawithin walking distancehot breakfastliberty bellfew blocksking suitefront desk staffflower showyogurtindependence hall
Filter
Updating list...
1,863 - 1,868 of 2,166 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We took our granddaughter to the historic district of Philadelphia this past weekend and stayed two nights at the Hampton Inn. The staff were the friendliest I have met in a hotel in a long time. The breakfast was ample, the room clean, the pool was small but fun for everyone who was in it. Again the staff were very accommodating in getting more towels when asked.
Within walking distance down 13th to Arch to Reading Terminal and the Convention Center. My 9-year old granddaughter had no trouble walking to the Liberty Bell and back.
The air conditioning unit was quite noisy...we turned it off at night. but all in all well worth the money...we used the Stay Overnight in Philadelphia Special and between the discount and free parking...you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

I stayed at the Hampton Inn lats year for the King Tut Exhibit.I found the hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly.We arrived at 12 noon and our room wouldn't be ready until 3 pm.They would have given us an earlier check in if they could have, but they were totally booked and had to clean the rooms.We had the valet parking from the hotel and they were so friendly and could not do enough for you.The hotel took our luggage and held it until we went to the King Tut Exhibit and checked in at 8 pm that night.The front desk staff was very friendly.Our room was very clean and the mattresses and pillows were so comfortable it was the best nite's sleep i had in a long time.The pool and hot tub were small and nothing fancy however the hottub was very relaxing.There was internet access with free computer use.There was a free continental breakfast which was good . Only wish they had juices available and not just coffee after the breakfast closed.The food was hot and they had a wide selection of breakfast foods which appealed to my kid's and they are fussy eaters.Check out was easy we had our bill slipped under our door when we woke up so no need to stop at the desk and wait.All we did was drop the key off and request our car.We did have to wait about 10 minutes to get our car but that's understandable since there were so many people checking out at once.It is about 3-4 blocks walking distance to City Hall in Center City.Although it may not be a ritzy hotel it was a very modern and clean hotel and a good value considering the prices of hotels in Philadelphia .I"m going back to Philly for 3 days in May and needless to say i'm staying at the Hampton Inn again.I called the hotel and made reservations and the staff was so freindly and informative when i asked all sorts of questions about colleges in the area that i am visiting with my daughter in May.Jim was on staff that night and i called him back numerous times with questions before i made the reservations and he was always friendly and imformative.I would definatley recommend this hotel to everyone and it's easy to find and you don't have to park down the street in parking lots as i have read in one review, they have valet parking for 23 dollars a night which is the average price for parking in Philly , some hotels even charge higher.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barbieinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We booked into Hampton Inn because it was a block from the Convention Center, had breakfast provided, and we've stayed at Hampton Inns previously. It was booked through the Convention Hotel Group for the meeting . Our plane arrival was about 7 hrs late, so arrived at the hotel about 1am. We had called to let them know we were coming and they informed us that our room would be there for us. The room on the 7th floor looked like it had not been refurnished in quite some time. It was across from the elevators, but soundproofing was pretty good. There was about a whole city block under demolition right outside our window. If we had arrived earlier, we might have asked for a new room, but since we were so late and exhausted,and had to be at meetings at 8am, we just went to bed. The hotel was full, so figured we could not get any better room the next evening.
The breakfast room was great. There were 2 hot choices every morning, lots of fruit, yogurt, rolls danish, as well as coffee and tea available all day. When we came in after a long day, there were pretzels with mustard and lemonade in the lobby. The desk and other employees were all very friendly, esp the breakfast room crew. For a meeting at the Convention Center, this was much better than our friends at the Marriott*Convention Hotel) who had the lobby torn up and most of the eating areas closed...for 2-3 times the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids ages 4 & 6) stayed in a 2 double room over Easter weekend. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the convention center and Reading Terminal Market. It was a longer walk to the Franklin Institute but still manageable. Parking is about 100 yards up the street in an uncovered lot but the price was very reasonable ($20/night) compared to others we'd looked at.

The complimentary breakfast was very good - fresh fruit, hot waffles and the usual collection of yogurt, cereals, muffins, etc. The room itself was fine - we found the walls to be a little thin and could hear some activity around us but it was very clean and well maintained. It was a little small but was fine for our purposes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We checked out the pool but didn't go in - the pictures on the website make it look bigger than it is but we did see a lot of people using it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2Hoyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

This is the nicest place I have ever stayed. The people went out of their way to help you. We were allowed to check in early, while we were there our plans changed and they allowed us to check out later. The valet parking was great, we went to a show the last day we were there. They asked when we would be back and my car was waiting for us. They kept our luggage until we got back, the doormen could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We were treated like royalty. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. The rooms were nice and clean. The hotel was very nice and the free breakfast was very nice. I can not say enough nice things about our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kll21208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews