We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Across the street from Convention Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Across the street from Convention Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very convenient to the convention center. Easy parking in lot 1/2 block up from the hotel. Good free breakfast and usual quality that is expected from this chain. Reception desk staff helpful in suggesting near by places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the comments concerning the cleanliness, location, and staff of the hotel. Comments like this will certainly help future guests make a decision on where to stay in Philadelphia.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    616
    224
    81
    41
See reviews for
496
295
73
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

All you need from a hotel for a short town visit, close to the centre of town, close to a good restaurant, everything you need in the room is there, internet works, friendly staff. Two drawbacks: not able to open a window in the room, that drives me scatty, and not really impressed by the breakfast, coffee didn't taste great and I do get upset by all the plastic used and discarded. But these are cultural differences and I can live with those if everything else is alright.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muse-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate you telling future guests about the great location and amenities of the hotel. Your comments concerning the breakfast are understood. Unfortunately the food and paper products are all Hampton spec's and must be used.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved the birthday surprise staff got into my room upon check-in! Very professional and at the same time friendly and helpful when info was needed! Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi area. Crowded restaurant area for breakfast on Sunday, probably hotel was sold out.. Loved the view from 10th floor!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia.
We appreciate the feedback and this will be forwarded to the front desk. Also Happy Birthday!!
I'm glad the front desk did something special!!!
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was much more reasonable than others in the area. Great accommodations. Easy walk to flower show and restaurants - Jake's has great pizza. Asked for and received quiet room on upper floor away from street. Self-parking was a breeze and just a half block walk. The parking has in/out privileges, but for local attractions, you're better off to take a cab. Staff wonderful. Nice FREE breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaK840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We do have a great location and being next to the convention center is a hugh plus. I'm glad you liked Jake's. The staff directs many guest's to them for pizza and sandwiches.
Thanks for the great comments and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here while attending the 2013 Flower Show. We could not have chosen a better location. The hotel is literally across the street from the PA Convention Center (where the flower show was held) and a short walk from Reading Terminal, Chinatown, and many good restaurants. It is a 10-15 minute walk from Independence Hall and the historical area. It is also a short walk from central bus lines.

However, what impressed me the most was the hotel staff and management. This hotel was quite busy while I was there, yet the staff - from the reception desk to the concierge to the cleaning staff - were professional, very pleasant and helpful. The manager was very visible and helping guests. The breakfast was well stocked and one of the best I have had at a Hampton Inn. Coffee & tea were kept stocked throughout the day, not just at breakfast.This hotel is clean, comfortable, and obviously well-managed (with a happy staff).

The only down-side is that hotel parking is in an open street-level lot a block down the street (as opposed to an enclosed parking garage). I had no problems, but if you park a car, be sure to remove all valuables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia during the flower show. This feedback will help future guests make decisions and we are thankful for that. We do have a great location being next to the convention center and the staff really work on making every guest feel comfortable.
Thank you for being our guest and hope to see you next year.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
775 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We had a very clean room. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a short walk to the Pennslyvania Convention Center, Redding Terminal Market, and China Town. Breakfast was included each day - a buffet of hot and cold food. In addition there is a pool, hot tub, and fitness room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and pointing out the location and amenities.
We appreciate the comments because future guests will read this and make decisions.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowersouthjersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and accomodating. We needed a fridge and called down for one, within minutes, one was brought up to our room. Since our son likes to swim, the indoor pool was perfect in the cold weather. The best thing about this hotel is that it is in the middle of what we like most about Philly. It has Old City, Reading Terminal Market, and The Avenue of the Arts all wihtin a short walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback especially your comments about the cleanliness and location.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing