We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and bad of being next to the convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The good and bad of being next to the convention center”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was very convenient, being next to the convention center, but did not seem able to support the capacity that a sold out connvention crowd put on the hotel! The hotel room was clean and comfortable, but very high ceilings made the room echo. The hotel advertised self parking, but it was off site at a local parking lot, unrelated to the hotel. That was very inconvenient, and the lot owner/ manager was kinda fly-by-night. The pool was way too small, and unstaffed, so it was a scary, dangerous mob scene of too many people, swimming in clothes, rather than swim suits, and not enough towels or chairs, and the hot tub was scummy in the corners, gross! Breakfast was a CIRCUS of too many people. You could hardly navigate throught the dining area, and the food stations were a mess. The hot entrees were not hot, and were all dried out, yuck! Both mornings we were there, the hotel was out of hot water. They said there was a problem with the system, but I think it was just not designed for that capacity. The staff were helpful and accommodating, but in over their heads. I felt badly for everyone involved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I certainly apologize for the problems incurred during your stay. This was a very busy weekend and the hotel was full with a convention and families. The staff really tries to maintain service but the sheer numbers make it very difficult. We review all comments and use it as a tool to improve.
Thank you,
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    718
    252
    96
    49
See reviews for
606
357
87
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed there while workiong the Home Show at the Convention Center. The Tatoo Convention was going on at the same time. It was very interesting meeting and getting to know some of the artists as well as followers. The hotel bar was a nice addition, and Eddie and Morrice were great as well, they both have a great sence of humor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear of building to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandapatioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for writing your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased both Ed and Maurice made you feel comfortable at the bar. I will certainly pass along your comments to them.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
768 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed at Hampton Inn on multiple occasions, I was surprised at all the problems during this stay. No hot water in the morning being the biggest problem. The hotel also seemed ill prepared for all the guests as it was impossible to get the free breakfast and a real chore to even get a cup of coffee. The location is good but that’s about it for this Hampton Inn

Room Tip: Having stayed at Hampton Inn on multiple occasions, I was surprised at all the problems during this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and I apolize for the problems you incurred. The hotel was full with a convention and many families during this weekend, which put a hugh demand on the breakfast area. I understand your point of view and will work harder in the future to make it easier for the guests.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The location was convinient, since the convention centre is next door. The room and the bathroom were nice and clean, and the bed was big and confortable. Could hear the people next door partying and shouting though, and the aircon/heater was noisy. I will sleep through anything, but can imagine this would bother many people. The free breakfast was great. Although they had paper plates and cups, and it was mostly unhealthy and tastless. Appreciated the fresh fruit though. The coffee was good. The staff were very nice and polite, but didn't know much (when we asked about places in Philadelphia). But we had free wireless in the room and there was a printer we could use. All in all, the place isn't especially fancy, but is suited for a bussiness stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for future Hampton Inn guests. We appreciate the feedback and will use it as a tool to improve our services. The location is so close to many attractions and restaurants and is one of our selling points.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The one bedroom suites are huge.. Very clean and comfortable..The staff was courteous and helpful .. There isn't much of a view , and the parking is a bit comical , but it's a great place to stay if you are visiting center city Philadelphia or Penn's Landing.. I will most likely stay there again, but next time I'll skip the valet parking..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the suite. Your comments about the cleanliness will be passed along to the housekeeping department.
Thanks so much for being our guest and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

we are fequently visiors if the hampton inn while my husband is on busines trips and this weekend was the absolute worse. There was no hot water for 3 days!! my husband had to miss a days worth of work due to not being able to shower. The hotel staff kept saying it was in the process of getting fixed and still nothing. i just read its the hamtpon inn's policy to refund.. we got 1 days refund out of 3 days with no water..???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittney d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and certainly apologize for the problems incurred. The staff works very hard to achieve the high levels of service and accommodations and we didn't deliver on our promise.
Hopefully this doesn't deter you from using Hampton Hotels in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here in January as base for our trip to Washington DC. The staff was friendly and always pointed us in the right direction. We enjoyed the free breakfast. It was a good add-on value and the staff was always cleaning. If you want something more substantial then head over to the Terminal Reading Market. Less than a 5 minute walk and they have all the food choices you could possible imagine. Everythig was within walking distance and we felt safe whether 9AM or 9PM. Clean hotel. Slept great. Convention center is right across street and I will definatley consider using this hotel for next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nine0Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback will help future guests make a decision on where to stay. Your comments concerning the hotel and surrounding area are welcomed. Hopefully we will see you in the near future.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
934 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing