We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff. Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great staff. Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here in January as base for our trip to Washington DC. The staff was friendly and always pointed us in the right direction. We enjoyed the free breakfast. It was a good add-on value and the staff was always cleaning. If you want something more substantial then head over to the Terminal Reading Market. Less than a 5 minute walk and they have all the food choices you could possible imagine. Everythig was within walking distance and we felt safe whether 9AM or 9PM. Clean hotel. Slept great. Convention center is right across street and I will definatley consider using this hotel for next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nine0Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback will help future guests make a decision on where to stay. Your comments concerning the hotel and surrounding area are welcomed. Hopefully we will see you in the near future.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    631
    227
    85
    41
See reviews for
508
298
80
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This business hotel is located in the convention center of Philadelphia, but in walking distance to most of the sights of the city. The stafff was very friendly and the hotel rooms were spottless and nicely decorated. The breakfast was very good, if you are in a hurry, you may also take it away. We enjoyed our stay there a lot.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chocolat_girl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and high score you gave us. The associates work hard in achieving this level of service and I'm glad you experienced this.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We very frequently stay at Hampton Inns and this was very disappointing. In short, we were given a room with two double beds rather than a king room like we'd requested and prepaid for and we didn't sleep at all because the heater in the room was VERY loud. To be fair we were refunded our money eventually (which is Hampton's policy) although even this was extremely difficult because we had prepaid. I know we will never stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate this feedback because it will make us better. I apologize for you not getting the bed type requested, this is very important to guests. The nosiy heater in the room can certainly cause a lousy night sleep and the maintenance on these is very high on our list. The Hampton stands by the 100% guest satisfaction and you certainly deserved a refund. I hope this doesn't deter you from using Hampton's in the future.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent four nights in this hotel and I would love to stay there again when I go back to Philadelphia. The staff is helpful and welcoming. I really appreciated the free wireless internet, the complimentary breakfast in the morning and all day hot beverages available for guests, and the availability of the business center when I needed to print some documents. I didn’t check the hot whirlpool this time, but I hope to have another chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we can get because it will make us better. Since you didn't use the pool or whirlpool this time hopefully when you return you will be able to use it.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an excellent stay on New Years Eve. The location was great, especially given the price. The immediate area surrounding the hotel was isolated which was a little disconcerting when walking at night but the general area still felt safe.

The rooms were very clean. The beds seemed smaller than at other hotels and weren't the most comfortable but that wasn't a huge issue. The layout of the floors is confusing with multiple halls leading off from the elevators.

The staff in particular could not have been friendlier or more helpful, especially for people having to work on a holiday. They were quick with a smile or a restaurant recommendation. They really worked hard to create a festive atmosphere to bring in 2013 which I truly appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you welcomed the New Year in at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia!! We really appreciate this feedback and every review gets passed along to the associates. Your comments about the hotel and surrounding area will help future guest make a decision.
Thanks for being our guest.
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

First keep in mind that the Hampton Inn chain is a limited service, budget minded, generally compact brand, and in this context, this is an easy 5 stars. Fantastic price. Spotless. Nicely decorated and lit. Very well equipped. Great location. This location has far better amenities than most Hampton Inns I've stayed at. Unusual to see a bar at a Hampton Inn, and this location also has a covered sidewalk patio area with a massive outdoor flat screen. The fitness center is also the best I’ve seen at a Hampton Inn with 7 cardio machines, a pulley system, and dumbbells with a bench. Indoor pool is smaller, but adequate, and has an adjoining hot tub.

The breakfast is mediocre, but it is unfortunately the standard for Hampton Inn, which in my opinion should be universally improved, and I have seen some individual Hampton Inn’s step above protocol and provide something a little better. But it’s included, and you have plenty of alternatives in walking distance.

Parking isn’t ideal, but it works. It’s in a lot across the street and the attendant was very sensitive to the fact that you are a hotel guest and treated you as such. $25 per day is extremely fair for downtown Philly parking with unlimited in and out privileges.

I saw a review that complained about the location because it is near a Greyhound terminal two blocks away that helps homeless people. Boo hoo. Like any hotel in a major city if you go a couple blocks in the wrong direction you’ll stumble across a murky corner. So don’t flaunt your jewelry, go the other direction instead, and you are one block from Reading terminal, China town, 3 blocks from avenue of the arts, and endless other sites and landmarks and museums. I saw another comment about it not being great for families. Sure it is, if you want to keep your family budget intact. The rooms are, again, compact, but fine for a family of four in a double bed room, so if you want to be downtown with a family of four and don’t want to pay a fortune, this works. I saw yet another reviewer get frightened at the signs that point out that they wash the sheets. The points of the signs is that they wash everything that comes into contact with your body, including the use of replaceable comforter covers. I hate to inform the reviewer that most hotels don’t use washable comforter covers so you are snuggling up to a comforter that usually doubles as a bed spread and hasn’t been washed in who knows how long.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank PhillyFoodieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback is extremely important to the staff because we use it as a tool to improve. Your description of the hotel and surrounding areas is well said. Hopefully future guests will read this information and understand the services and amenities we offer.
Thank you for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip. This hotel is literally right next to the Convention Center and very short (2 block) walking distance to the Chinatown. I love their coffee and it is provided 24-hour. The hotel always has staff available at the door greeting everyone. Great service. Free breakfast is no doubt a plus, but wish they provide more meat. Wifi is free but takes too long to log in but after that you are good to go. Overall, I am pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haithanhhuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and I'm very pleased the Hotel's services and location met all your needs. Information like this will help future guets.
Thanks for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing