We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value and in a very central location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super value and in a very central location!”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here for three nights as part of a mini-vacation prior to a major conference in Philly. Generally, I have had very good luck with Hampton Inns across the US. This one was no exception!
My room, facing toward part of the Pennsylvania Convention Center, was in very good condition and the bed felt like it was practically brand new. The bathroom was spotless and everything worked well (except for the cable TV, but who cares?). The staff was genuinely helpful and the breakfasts were typical for a hotel of this price range. Internet is free, and the rooms have a coffee machine and cups, but there is no in-room safe. Small safe deposit boxes are available at the desk without charge.
As for the location, I think it's superb. It's exactly halfway between Logan Square and Franklin Square. It took me about 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to Independence Hall and about the same to Logan Square. As I said before, it's also right across the street from the Penn. Convention Center and about five minutes walk from Reading Market. The area appears to be about as safe as a major city can be, too.
This hotel is nothing fancy, but it is excellent value in my opinion.

Room Tip: There was a bit of noise from the Convention Center. A room on the opposite side of the hotel might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
The hotel appreciates feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thanks for all the kind words about the condition of the hotel and location. We continue to work on the condition of the hotel and we are in the process of installing new furniture, adding a bar, and upgrading the internet.
Thank you so much for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    707
    248
    95
    48
See reviews for
592
347
84
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
408 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Spent a pleasant weekend at the Hampton Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was above average. While there was no street noise, the heating unit was VERY noisy, despite ear plugs.

Can't beat the location - all of the main tourist attractions are within a 20 - 25 minute walk. The hotel is really close to the Reading Terminal Market which is well worth a visit.

A number of reviewers have compalined about the homeless people - the trick is to avoid Race Street. At night your best bet is to walk along Walnut or Chestnut (wider, busier, bettter lit) then up 13th.

If you come by plane there is no need for a car - the train from the aiport runs every 30 minutes ($7 per person) and the Market Street East stop is around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thank you for writing the review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. First of all I apologize for the noise of the HVAC unit in your guestroom. You stated the location is great and it's right in the middle of so many things to do, almost 20 minutes from most areas you might want to go. We are adding a few things to the hotel in the future to enhance guest stays. The internet is getting an upgrade, adding a liquor bar, installing new furniture to all guestrooms, and changing the bathroom amenities.
Thanks for staying with us.
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the NSC conference this year (three days) and found it average. I was not acknowledged for my Hilton Honors status, and when I had called in (before check-in) to see if there were any available suites on the lowest level, and I was told that the hotel was at full capacity.

I did encounter some problems with the suite; wall paper peeling in the bathroom, rust/mold in the shower, and a nice view (sic) of the convention center. The hotel is conveniently located next door to the convention center, and there is a shelter located about a block away, but the residents didn't bother me at all. I did encounter many problems with the internet service in my room, in the downstairs and lobby level business centers on many days. I did report this to the GM on downstairs level, where he suggested that I try the computers at the lobbly level where the problem remained.

If you want to consider another Hilton property, there is a Hilton Garden Inn on the other side of the convention center, but it was booked so the Hampton Inn was my last resort and I had booked this hotel some seven months prior.

This Hampton Inn has some opportunity for improvement.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdUrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I certainly apologize for the condition of the room and lack of internet service. The hotel is in the process of upgrading the interent and hope to be turned over to the new system by mid December. We are installing new furniture in all guestrooms by the end of December,upgrading the bathroom amenities, and adding a bar in the near future.
Thank you for being our guest.
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

If convenience to the Convention Center is important to you, the location is tough to beat. It was raining like crazy the week I was there. It is literally 100 feet from the front door of the hotel to a covered walkway attached to the convention center on 13th street.

Pros
--------

Reasonably priced.

Decent interior.

Friendly, attentive staff.

Clean, quiet, comfortable.

Apparently there is a new bar on the way with an outdoor seating area that should shield guests from the street people a little better than the current open front porch.

Very convenient to Convention Center.

Cons
--------

The press-board desk was chewed up a bit.

It's "on the wrong side of the tracks"; that is, there are lots of street people around and there isn't much to do within 4-5 blocks except the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoRebounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review concerning your recent stay. We love to get feedback and this tell s futre guests what to expect. The hotel is upgrading the internet, adding a liquor bar, and installing all new furniture in the guestrooms and this will all be complete by the end of the year.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just got back from my stay at this hotel and I must say I have mixed reviews. For starters, I was terribly dissatisfied with the location of the hotel. Down one block east on Race Street is a homeless shelter or soup kitchen, not sure what. But what I do know is the patrons of the shelter/kitchen made it extremely uneasy for me to walk down the street. My first hour at the hotel I witnessed cops putting handcuffs on someone. After that I saw numerous police vehicles in the vicinity for the next 2 days. While some people may find comfort in that, I must warn you that numerous cops in one area means the area has problems. I witnessed many people up and down race street that appeared to have at one time or another had substance abuse problems as well as anger/emotional problems as they yelled aloud in the streets and kicked garbage around. I know, some of you may say thats the price you pay for picking a hotel in the city, but I can assure you as I walked past the Ritz Carlton, the Marriott and numerous other hotels I did not witness the same conditions. The hotel itself was nice. The front desk lacked to deliver a corkscrew we asked for not once but twice. The breakfast was mediocre. The staff was friendly and accomodating and the room was very clean. Upon arriving home I noticed they over charged me for my stay to the tune of $550, but it was immediately rectified by hotel personnel. While I appreciated the cleanliness, I did not appreciate the deplorable conditions met on the outside. While that may not be the fault of the Hampton Inn, it will definitely impact my future research into choosing a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side of the Convention Center unless you like to be awoke during the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience concerning your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your comments about some of the people outside the hotel are correct. There is a soup kitchen located down the street and it is open Monday-Friday for lunch. The city does patrol the "convention" area more frequent that other parts of the city. Accross the street is a police office for the convention center. I understand your observations around the hotel and the mayor and local community leaders are aware of the downtown opportunities. I apologize for the the other problems you incurred at the hotel.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is a typical Hampton Inn, except it's a high rise. Because it's in Center City Philadelphia, parking is expensive, as is the case for all other hotels in that part of Philadelphia.
It's a few blocks from the Market Square East SEMPTA station which offers train service to the Philadelphia Airport. Reading Market is nearby as is the Philadelphia Convention Center and China Town. The Hampton Inn near PHL may offer better value though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dissatified88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the comments because it will make ua a better hotel in the future.
Thanks for being OUR guest.
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The wife & I stayed (2) nights, arriving Satday and departing Monday. Everything was great! Friendly & effective staff, newly remodeled facility, breakfast, location, etc. We drove to Philly, so parking was a concern from a price perspective ($35.00 valet/$25.00 self park). Previous visitors expressed concern because of the time lag between car retrieval request and their vehicle actually showing up in front of the hotel. Did a quick search for Central Parking and found a location 2 blocks east on the corner of 11th and Race for $15.00 for 24hrs. Secure, encolsed facility on the south side of the street, western edge of Chinatown. Be advised (LOL) no in/out priviledges and you have to print out coupon prior to vehicle pick-up/payment time.
Only question we both have for management...why use paper cups in the rooms? Despite being recyclable, what's so green about generating additional trash. Very chinsey (sp?), even plastic would have been a nicer touch. Paper cups also tend to leak overnight all over the nightstand.
Despite minor issues, great place to stay. We were on the 7th floor and heard little or no "city" noise during the stay. Directly across the street from the convention center. Reading Terminal Market, Chinatown, City Hall, Hard Rock are all 5 min. walk. Old City is 12 - 15 minutes, depending on your pace. about 20 minutes to Penn's Landing. There a (3) SEPTA stations w/i 5 - 7 min walk.

Room Tip: Away from elevator and vending/ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larzfrommarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you for writing this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback. Your comment about the parking is correct. You can get cheaper rates at certain lots but it depends on security/in and out privledges. Your concerns about the cups in the rooms are justified. This is a Hampton spec for cups in a room. We don't have any glassware and the plastic cups have been replaced with paper. I believe this was done because the paper cups will break down in a landfill.
Thank you so much for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing