We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat”
Review of Twisted Tail

Twisted Tail
Reserve with OpenTable
Twisted Tail is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #190 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between South and Lombard
Transit: Metered street parking is available in front of the restaurant. The closest available parking garage is located on Lombard Street between 2nd and 3rd.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been going to Twisted Tail since shortly after they opened and have always enjoyed the mature atmosphere and live music. There aren't many bars/restaurants in the South St. area that provide such an impressive and ecclectic assortment of food and drinks. Hearing live jazz/bluess is a pleasant change from the typical music served up in other local bars. Great for just lounging and enjoying a good beer or cocktail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Resturant!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Live music every night which is hard to come by in Philadelphia. The service was great and attentive without feeling like I was being rushed through our meal. Our server knew which bourbons and whiskeys to recommend off of the extensive menu. And the food was excellent especially the pulled pork empanadas. A very good Restaurant in a tourist heavy area and I am a local and would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzGeorgieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and flavorful”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great beer, good service, tasty food. Unique menu items, personal service. We had a party of 4 and were taken care of very well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food good drink!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the octopus, salads, chicken in a bag, scallops and all was excellent. Service was good ! Need we say more?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich,IL ( Chicago burb )
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Food, Beer, & Blues”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After driving around for 30 minutes, I found a place to park on the street and found myself at the bar where the friendly bartender offered me a great IPA on tap. I looked over while a local Blues Band was playing my favorite tunes while people were dancing. Great atmosphere here and I was starving so I ordered an excellent bacon Cheeseburger with a 3- types of sauces to put on. The portion was so large, I needed to cut in half.

After my dinner I was curious to try one of the whiskey, since the Twisted Tail touts many whiskey's on the bar menu, and BTW offers flights. What better way to listen to the Blues with a smooth Maker's Whiskey on the rocks.

This is a fun place to meet up with friends or just hang at the bar to meet interesting people. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotRod1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Tail also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Twisted Tail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing