We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fare”
Review of Fare Restaurant

Fare Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fare Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #314 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corinthian Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Fare”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This adorable gem on Fairmount Ave in Philadelphia is fresh, local and friendly to all sorts of dietary wants and needs. Paleo? No problem. Gluten Free? You got it. Vegetarian? Yup. My friends and I visited after a flea market in the area for breakfast and were not disappointed following strong recommendations Looking for time to go back for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, subpar service”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The neighborhood around Fare seems to be slowly coming to life with an eye toward trendy. Walking in, the decor is not overwhelming either way.
the DECOR: Simple, bright and open but I did notice a few things that were negatives, like the chairs had stains on them (they were some type of fabric) and the tables were clean but a bit tired looking (no table cloths). The tables are a bit on top of each other but not overwhelmingly so.

The SERVICE: Our server was all in all, not very attentive and possibly in a bad mood or just has that type of personality. Despite several attempts at humor from our group she refused to even crack a smile but she was not rude in any way though she did seem a bit annoyed at the humor attempts. She did provide a few suggestions which worked out well but she also was a bit careless (spilled a rather large amount of hot coffee on the table and one of our party and didn't notice til they started cleaning it off their pant leg...perhaps just one of those days for her?). There were also some service issues with the meal itself. The sides came out and sat on the table for about 5-10 minutes before the entrees came. Not that big a deal but still a glitch and at these prices, it doesn't take many of them to make it a bad experience. All in all, I would rate the service as below average or average at best.

The FOOD: The food was very well prepared and is the saving grace of Fare. A friend is a bit of an oyster connoseiur and enjoyed the oysters while the rest of us split the crispy tuna roll (which was excellent) and the hummus platter. All starters were met with approval. I enjoyed the crab cake entree which was very good, lots of crab, little filler and perfectly seasoned. The brussel sprouts side was excellent as were the truffle fries. With a better wait staff and some minor decor changes, this place would be 5 star, which the food warrants. Worth a try at least if you are in the neighborhood but it is a bit pricey. Dinner for 3 with 2 beers each was over $200.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable and convenient”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We ate at Fare as part of the Eastern State Penitentiary special tour...the flatbread pizza was the best appetizer. Meal was good, service excellent. One in our party had the ice cream sandwich and the cookies were too thick and hard so that the sandwich was unmanageable and not enough ice cream...the chocolate mouse was better. It had a casual pleasant atmosphere and was super convenient as part of the package since the prison was across the street...it was also a very reasonable price

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzanne0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fare Restaurant Only Fair”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

After a visit to the Barnes, we decided to try a new place in the Fairmount neighborhood. Fare advertises fresh, locally-sourced foods, and could be described as New American in cuisine. The decor was attractive, and the menu seemed to offer a nice variety of smaller and larger dishes. We ordered a hummus platter with pita, which was tasty. For entrees, we opted for fish and a vegetarian dish, mushroom cakes. Although the accompanying vegetables were fresh and we'll-prepared, the entrees were relatively tasteless, and the portions were small. In addition, the service was not particularly attentive, and the place seemed a bit disorganized. There are better choices in the neighborhood, and we won't be rushing back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant with great food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went here because it's across from Eastern State Penitentiary and they offer a package deal for the "Terror Behind the Walls" event. The food, service and ambiance were all wonderful. We enjoyed the special halloween cocktails and desserts, too! We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skylane_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fare Restaurant also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Fare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing