We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nothing spectacular”
Review of Mac's Tavern

Mac's Tavern
Ranked #407 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Columbia, Missouri, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food, nothing spectacular”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited while on a recent trip to Philadelphia. The food was good and fresh, but was nothing spectacular. It is conveniently located and does have afternoon hours, unlike many places in the area that close between 2pm-5pm. Service was good as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Rob_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    48
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's Always Great at Mac's”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Like most others, we were drawn here because of Always Sunny. The decor has some subtle Always Sunny references (Chase Utley jersey on the wall, several items on the menu, etc.). The beer selection is extensive, the food is great, and the atmosphere always fun. Prices are a bit high, but what do you expect in Center City?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pehland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A solid pub-style bar with a great menu”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Like many of the prior reviewers, I'm a "Sunny" fan and was anxious to visit here. I wasn't expecting it to look like the bar on the TV show...actually, I didn't know what to expect.

My wife and I visited on a late Saturday afternoon. It looks like any other pub/tavern. The beer selection was quite large. There was plenty of seating available, including a few outdoor tables. The weather was great, and we took two barstools at the small rail in front of the open windows. So we got to do some people watching, and more importantly, we got to peak at what the outdoor patrons were eating. We didn't have time to eat, but I'm really looking forward to going back because the menu was large and the food look fantastic for pub/bar food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Went in with wife and two kids. This place has dive bar decor but way better than dive bar food. Great selection of tasty beers, one of the best steak sandwiches i've had, and good burgers and fries. Other stuff on the menu looked good too, but i came in with a cheesesteak in mind so that's what i had.

Helpful?
1 Thank thewagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Sunny fan, which prompted my visit. The food amazed. It wasn't greasy pub food but delicious treats. They had some great, cheap cider on tap. Absolutely delicious. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Mac's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing