We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Sonny's Famous Steaks
Ranked #34 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sonny's is known for its authentic, award-winning Philly Cheesesteaks just a few blocks from the Liberty Bell and National Constitution Center in the heart of historic Old City, Philadelphia. Sonny's is continually ranked number one on Philly Cheesesteak top ten lists, notably by GQ in 2014. We care about our sandwiches. We use 100% fresh Angus beef and slice it fresh every morning (most places order it sliced). Each sandwich is individually prepared to order (versus the now common practice of producing a batch of sandwiches at once). That's why both tourists and locals frequent Sonny's -- it's real, it's genuine, and it's delicious. Sonny's Cheesesteaks is in downtown Philly, convenient to hotels and sightseeing hubs. Tour groups and school groups flow in and out of local hotspot. We provide discounts to groups that book in advance on our website. We also have discounts for US Military, police officers, students and more! We pride ourselves on our friendliness. We love newcomers and are eager to teach folks everything and anything about cheesesteaks. Don't get nervous ordering, and please, ask questions! Sonny's is the real deal Philly cheesesteak experience -- and it's easy to get to by foot, cab, or subway (SEPTA 2nd Street Station). Feel free to call for directions or check online.
ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

OK so I was never a big cheesesteak fan but now I get it. Sonny's gave us the real thing. Delicious, juicy sliced beef, plenty of mozzarella and a crusty bun. Really, really great. Glad I don't live near one or I would be "uge" as they say here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaEmerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    281
    92
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wish it was cleaner.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was the second time we were there and both time clean was not a word I would use to describe it. I wanted to be okay with it enough to enjoy our cheese steak contest but to be honest its kinda hard to ignore.

The staff was very friendly and the service was quick but I really wanted to ask how could they work like this?
What about pride? They did have work ethic I just don't understand. It is the last time we will go there. There are too many other places to go to put up with that.

I could understand if it were a food truck but lately since that is all the rage they have been amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momoftwofreehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best cheesesteaks in town!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

You can't go to Philly and not try a cheesesteak, especially since they aren't very common in the south. First off, the south can't do them justice. Don't even bother until you get to Philly. I tried another place first and it was a great steak. But when I got here, this place just blew the other place clean out of the water. It was so good, I came back for a second the next day. I mean that good. Plus the service was extremely friendly. If you're going to pay for a cheesesteak, get it from the right place at least. Go to Sonny's.
It's right outside the 2nd Street subway station, on Market. Great outdoor seating as well. They're open every day and until midnight Fri and Sat I believe. They opened at 11 on Sunday.
If I'm ever back in the neighborhood, this is where I'm eating again. Great job guys!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darylwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, near the Liberty Bell”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

You don't have to go to Pats or Genos for steaks if you have friends visiting the Liberty Bell area. Sonny's has good old time atmosphere and good steaks, just a few minute's walk away, near 3rd street. Good fun with the staff, as they stumbled with French to the delight of our French visitors

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mmmm mmm good...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent the day touring Philadelphia and stumbled across this place what a gem! The burgers are great. The cheese steaks are tasty. But to top it off these guys are great with customer service skills. They make you feel right at home and want to visit again and again. If you come across this place do stop in!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twosweet4u2deny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Famous Steaks also viewed

 
 

Been to Sonny's Famous Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing