We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled onto this while walking the neighborhood; saw Zagat and tried it.”
Review of Revolution House

Revolution House
Ranked #222 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Western NY
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Stumbled onto this while walking the neighborhood; saw Zagat and tried it.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Family of 4, first visit to Old City Philadelphia. Looking for dinner on a Sunday evening. Walked around the neighborhood, liked the outside of Revolution House and saw the Zagat sign. Glad we tried it. My husband had the tri-tip cheesesteak and he said it was excellent. I had the burger and its served in almost a pocket bread. Good! My son said the mac and cheese was weird (looked good). Had a crab, shrimp and risotto small plate and it was good (2 cakes). Prices weren't bad (4 people, soda, 1 beer, one small plate, 4 entrees for $72). Very nice interior. Interesting mix of new and old style. We didn't go upstairs to the terrace but many people waited for these tables. Decent crowd for a Sunday evening. Excellent service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackiepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    66
    35
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprise, Surprise”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I found this treasure and are we glad we did. I had the cheese steak amazingly different, he had the chicken sandwich and he is still talking about the taste I personally think it was the pineapples but next time we will find out because YES we are going back. Its a lunch time secret.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The food is edible and the service good. However, it's overpriced for what you get. One of us had a steak that was ok but small; the other diner had a seafood/artichoke combo. The California wine was unremarkable except for its exorbitant price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank weirdflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I find it hard to find well made pizza. I like individual pies, my favorite pizza was Spiritus in Provincetown MA but this is a contender. The wine selection is small but well thought out, the rest of the menu was eclectic and looking at what the other diners were eating, everyone seemed to be enjoying their meals. The staff was friendly and well informed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey, Usa
2 reviews
“Thank god we found this place!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We walked around this area for about 25 minutes trying to find a perfect place that fits our style for dinner before our concert and couldn't have asked for anything better. Excellent selection of craft beers, food was delicious and the wait staff was extremely friendly. we were here in February and want to go back when its warm out to check out the deck upstairs

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolution House also viewed

 

Been to Revolution House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing