We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad Experience at this hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was one of the worst hotel check in experiences I had. I user priceline.com to book this hotel and found out this is indeed three and half stars hotel as per priceline.com. I checked in on 3/31 with a check out for 4/1 and room number # 615. At the desk, the executive mentioned that they have booked us for a club room. A club room is a miniature room having a common entry door with adjoining club room. We were shocked and extremely disappointed by the room. The TV was close to the bathroom and now way can e seen from the bed. In a nutshell, the size of the room was equal to the elevator hallway. Difficult for the bed to sleep a couple.

Talking about the experience. My wife and me came at the check in desk and were told about the room size and type. We were shocked to know that that they are not giving us the standard room (all priceline customers get at least a standard room). They asked for a $10 upgrade fee, which is completely unethical.

We entered the room and found the room unsuitable for two people to stay and went down and immediately returned the keys. Disappointed with Priceline for considering this hotel a three and half stars, which cannot provide a standard room to a couple.

We went down and asked about our dissatisfaction with room and asked at least provide us a standard room. They did not budge and we simply dropped the keys & moved out. My question to the management is if your hotel is empty since it is the Easter Sunday Night, why cant you provide better rooms? It is not a question of $10, but a major question mark to the customer service focus of this hotel. First time I am hearing better rooms remain unoccupied in favor of bad/small rooms.

Avoid staying here. It is not a friendly and customer oriented hotel.

Room Tip: ask for at least a standard room in case you end up getting this hotel using Name Your Price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jitesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    774
    304
    119
    81
See reviews for
257
743
295
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was in a great spot, close to train that got us to the Wells Fargo center and quite clean. My two complaints would be, they did not provide a hair dryer and the TV was too small and in an awkward place while trying to watch TV in bed. Yes, the room is small but that did not bother us because of our short stay and it appeared we did not have anyone staying on either side of us, so I can't really comment on the noise problem that some other guests have complained about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel during March. First time visit.

Rooms: I stayed on the top floor, which was labeled penthouse. I booked my room via priceline. The rooms were nice, but pretty small. There was a double bed, writing desk and counter with television on top. The bathroom was probably the biggest disappointment. It just was not that nice. Clean though.

Service: Excellent. The staff was very friendly. I did not have shaving cream. They brought me some right away.

Amenities: Excellent. Free wifi. Nice continental breakfast. The lobby is really nice. They have a nice selection of newspapers available. I saw signs that said Ipads were available upon request.

Location: Great. Plenty of stuff nearby in terms of food and shopping.

Value: I would say worth it. Granted I caught a break in price from Priceline. Still, the location is great, wifi free and solid location. Would be nice if the bathrooms were a bit better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbeck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Second stay at this hotel. I had a smaller room (club room) but it was plenty for one person. The room was very clean and comfortable, and included a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee-maker. No bath tub, but a very large shower. Staff was very friendly. Good selection of beverages/coffee/snacks in lobby. Wireless internet worked well. My room was overlooking 17th street and there was a fair amount of street noise (nothing ear plugs can't take care of). Location is the best part of this hotel. Also, they offer $13 off parking in the garage located across the street in the Liberty Shopping Center (parking is still very expensive!). Did not try restaurant on site, but plenty of places to eat within a 5-10 min walk. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

There are some cheaper hotels nearby and i wasnt too impressed with the overall set up. Was awfully clean and centralized which cant be beaten, but i think that for this club quarters, a slightly lower price would match the standard of the hotel. Can be improved.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I'm a Club Quarters junkie, and write this review being very aware that this property is a very good value for the price. However, my room was significantly sub-par compared to other CQ properties.

The entryway and lobby are great, and include a nice selection of afternoon munchies and coffee with breakfast bars in the morning. The location is wonderful.

My room, however, looked like it was painted by a clown and then badly lit. The combination of dark purple, kelly green and PUCE walls, lit by the cheapest possible fluorescent light bulbs (with no though whatsoever as to choosing bulbs that aren't harsh white) can only be described as garish. Everything just feels old. Neat, clean and tidy, but old. CQ could also learn to have the sheets laundered so they don't smell like they belong in a Motel 6.

To add to the garishness, the very small and outdated bathroom was painted LILAC blue.

But, all that having been said, a great price at a great location, just don't expect top quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved my recent stay at Club Quarters in Philly. Great restaurant attached to hotel. Free WiFi in the rooms (not a given today) and a comfortable desk and chair to work at. Soft beverages and snacks in the lobby 24/7. Convenient Center City location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,329 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Address: 1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia is a newly renovated full service hotel designed for business travelers. Located in the heart of the city's business district and within walking distance of many cultural and historical attractions including Rittenhouse Square, Antique Row and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Adjacent to Liberty Place with over 70 unique boutiques and restaurants and easily accessible to the convention center. Its restaurant and bar, Davio's, serves delicious Northern Italian cuisine. All Club Quarters Hotels provide: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Philadelphia
Club Quarters Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing