We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, quiet. Frown on younger guests.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, quiet. Frown on younger guests.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice rooms and furnishings. Bottled water available on each floor is a nice touch. Great location in downtown Philly. Concierge service is very accommodating. The restaurant the have was nice, although expensive. Stop by the bar, try the Yard Brawler beer, I feel in love with it.
The biggest negative point I have to make is their treatment of young guests. I understand the stigma, but it is still degrading when I pay the same rate as all other guests. Was denied a room upgrade as soon as they saw we were young, and the desk staff seemed to be too busy with other guests to answer questions we had. The continental breakfast they offered was expensive and sucked.
Overall, it was a nice hotel and a great experience. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Push for a room upgrade (If you're not "too young"), they're inexpensive and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshans07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    791
    311
    119
    88
See reviews for
268
759
305
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you'd like to stay in a walkable area of Philly and know you're in a special city, stay in the Club Quarters. Built in the 1920s, it's an interesting and groovy building which bears no resemblence to the millions of chain hotel rooms that all look the same. The rooms are small, but unless you plan to spend your entire visit inside a bedroom, it's a perfectly fine place to shower, sleep, and do some work (rooms have ample desk space, wifi, and lighting). The price is amazing for Center City Philadelphia and the location is safe and filled with shopping, restaurants, and public transportation. I will absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over the weekend, and were very disappointed. I had received good reviews from friends and clients staying at Club Quarters in DC and NY, so we thought we would give it a try. The first room we got was the most dismal and depressing hotel room I ever checked into in the US. There was one window which was hidden behind a wall, so that there was literally no light coming into the room, and there was only one wall sconce, making it a very dark room. It was also freezing in there and the thermostat didn't seem to work to warm up the room. We asked for another room, and was told that there were none other available unless we wanted to upgrade ....for a fee. I refused so they told me that if we wait an hour or so, they would move us into another room once it was clean. We agreed. Another or so later, they did move us to another room with lots of windows, and more light. So there was an improvement but it was freezing cold in there too.
However, we were surprised by the poor quality of the towels and amenities in the bathroom. The entire experience was depressing.
On the plus side, the room and bathroom was clean; the location was excellent; and they provide free bottled water on every floor and free water and coffee and tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda6062206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

All seemed to be well, until I mentioned my concerns about excessive noise throughout the night. The clerk, did not seem to care about what my opinion was and simply blew me off. A nice hotel with a terrible desk staff, is a deal breaker.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TyqB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Club Quarters on business. The company I work for has a great rate at CQ so I decided to try it out. The hotel rooms reminded me of cruise ship cabins. The rooms are generally clean but nothing spectular. The beds are hard as a rock. If you just need a basic and functional hotel room that is studio style then this place is perfect. The location is fantastic being on Rittenhouse Square. There appears to be a very high end Italian restaurant connected to the hotel, but I did not eat there.

As for me, I travel often and I like comfort away from home. I will stick with the major hotel brands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoftwareTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I work for a firm where we fly people in from all over the US. The past few months I have gotten nothing but complaints about this hotel. The air or heat is not working the walls are thin so thin that you can hear everything in the other rooms. At times it sounds like someone is trying to get into your room when they are trying to get in their own. Alarm clocks not working calling for a wake up call and the front desk forgets. One person had a problem with the air and had to put down an additional $200 to switch rooms. FYI to all you traveling to Philly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in a "club size" room, which is smaller than your usual hotel room, but it's not tiny. It's lovely and very comfortable. It's an incredible value, particularly when you compare the price with other Center City hotels. Club Quarters is right in Center City, close to many good restaurants, an easy walk to many of the famous Philly tourist sites, and a very short walk to the train that takes you to the airport. Perfect for those who are traveling without cars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,266 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,245 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,342 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Address: 1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia is a newly renovated full service hotel designed for business travelers. Located in the heart of the city's business district and within walking distance of many cultural and historical attractions including Rittenhouse Square, Antique Row and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Adjacent to Liberty Place with over 70 unique boutiques and restaurants and easily accessible to the convention center. Its restaurant and bar, Davio's, serves delicious Northern Italian cuisine. All Club Quarters Hotels provide: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Philadelphia
Club Quarters Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing