We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
Ranked #19 of 72 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most popular Hop-On Hop-Off tour in the city of Philadelphia. Enjoy our 27 stops throughout the city, which are close to over 100 attractions. The tours are also live guided with Big Bus Certified tour guides. The tour has frequent departures from the N.E. Corner of 5th and Market Streets. (Operated year round) Peak Season hours 9:30 to 6:30 PM (last tour departs 5 PM.) Philly by Night 90 minute fully narrated city tour covering the Art Museum to the Waterfront. 8 PM. Departures Nightly from 12th.and Filbert Street. Night tours operate, seasonally, May 1 thru October 31.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went on the whole tour without stops. Tessa was our guide. She gave us an incredible amount of info in that time. Her knowledge was amazing. A great way to learn about Philly in 90 minutes.

Thank BaldLoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. There really is no better way to see the amazing city of Philadelphia. We pride ourselves in working very hard to provide the best tour possible every time we leave stop #1 and we appreciate you noticing our efforts. When you come back to Philadelphia please ride our tour again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hop on hop"
in 67 reviews
"tour guide"
in 126 reviews
"day pass"
in 61 reviews
"night tour"
in 35 reviews
"great tour"
in 78 reviews
"double decker"
in 16 reviews
"philadelphia pass"
in 32 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 19 reviews
"your bearings"
in 15 reviews
"the loop"
in 12 reviews
"entire tour"
in 16 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 15 reviews
"great overview"
in 12 reviews
"rocky steps"
in 32 reviews
"visited philadelphia"
in 13 reviews
"art museum"
in 35 reviews
"eastern state penitentiary"
in 17 reviews
Filter

852 - 856 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I chose the Big Bus Tour on Friday of Labor Day weekend. Sitting up top of the double decker, the tour guide did a very good job describing the sights. The experience was a major disappoint after we got off at the Philadelphia Museum stop. There was a Jay Z concert that was scheduled over the weekend, so that caused the bus to go a different route. That still should not excuse the 40 minute wait. We were informed it should have been about a 20 minute wait.

When we got back on the bus, it was packed with people on the top and bottom of the bus, as we had to stand. It was very loud so you could not hear the tour guide. They had 1 small stereo speaker on the bottom half of the bus. With the bus being packed with people, they needed to upgrade and add additional speakers. In addition, the bus stalled out a couple of times while making a left turn! Thankfully, we survived! They should have added additional buses with the anticipation of the Jay Z concert and it being Labor Day weekend. We could have paid $2 a stop with Philly Phlash as opposed to the $20 a piece tour we paid with Big Bus. Overall, we were very disappointed.

2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Hi Mike D,
Thank You for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We try to do the best we can when the Made In America concert takes place each year, but it is a challenge with all the road closures. If you are coming back to Philadelphia and would like to give us another shot please reach out to me directly at info@phillytour.com and I will personally make sure you have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Big Bus is a bus tour that promises to pick you up and drop you off at various locations around Philadelphia. We had a fun time but some of the stops we had to wait up to 40 minutes for them to pick us up again. Last weekend we wanted to go to the Philadelphia Art museum. We waited almost 45 minutes til one of the kind gentlemen running the Pflash buses (which by the way do the same route for $2, not $27) offered us a ride back to our hotel when we told them that the Big Bus dumped us. We had to catch the Amtrak back home that afternoon and either had to grab a cab or took an alternate ride with the Pflash back to our hotel.

So if you just want a ride around the city, the tour guides are fun and knowledgeable. Not dependable though.

All in all it was worth maybe $15 not $27.

Thank cabfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Hi cabfromnyc,
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. We are glad you enjoyed the tour, but sorry that you had to wait too long at the stops. We always work on improving our system so that people will not get stranded in the future. If you are coming back to Philadelphia and would like to give us another shot please reach out to me directly at info@phillytour.com and I will personally make sure you have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I was only in Philladelphia for 2 nights so decided on this tour in an attempt to see the city's sights having never visited the city before. I wasn't dissapointed. Full non stop tour was 1 hr 40 minutes. You can hop off and on at numerous locations. Bill the tour guide was exceptional with his knowledge of this area and spoke non stop hardly pausing for breath in an informative and entertaining manner. I dont normally do bus trips however this was great and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Look for groupon offers.

Thank rygazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. There really is no better way to see the amazing city of Philadelphia. We pride ourselves in working very hard to provide the best tour possible every time we leave stop #1 and we appreciate you noticing our efforts. When you come back to Philadelphia please ride our tour again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Choose to do this with two friends on a nice sunny day. A shuttle picked us up and dropped us off at stop number one. Since we couldn't use a 24 hour ticket, they negotiated a price with us. The guide was very up beat and informative. I recommend the tour to everyone!

Thank downtown_baileybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. There really is no better way to see the amazing city of Philadelphia. We pride ourselves in working very hard to provide the best tour possible every time we leave stop #1 and we appreciate you noticing our efforts. When you come back to Philadelphia please ride our tour again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing