We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour of Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #9 of 75 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most popular Hop-On Hop-Off tour in the city of Philadelphia. Enjoy our 27 stops throughout the city, which are close to over 100 attractions. The tours are also live guided with Big Bus Certified tour guides. The tour has frequent departures from the N.E. Corner of 5th and Market Streets. (Operated year round) Peak Season hours 9:30 to 6:30 PM (last tour departs 5 PM.) Philly by Night 90 minute fully narrated city tour covering the Art Museum to the Waterfront. 8 PM. Departures Nightly from 12th.and Filbert Street. Night tours operate, seasonally, May 1 thru October 31.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My group of 16 friends just returned from a long weekend exploring Philadelphia. We started off with a Big Bus Tour, and are very glad we did. Even before we left home, our communication with Nancy in the office was so very helpful. She promptly answered my questions and helped organize our large group to make the most of our time. When we arrived in Philadelphia we were provided with shuttle service from our hotel to the start of the tour. We were then greeted by Greg, who was very helpful in issuing our tour tickets using our Philadelphia Passes. All in all, everyone we encountered from Big Bus Tours exceeded our expectations. We'd definitely recommend using Big Bus for anyone wanting a great orientation tour of the city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank B-and-FMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. Your positive and detailed review of our tour is very valuable for our company. We are very happy you had a great experience. Please take our tour again when you come back to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    227
    72
    44
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great way to get around the city ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited Philadelphia over the long Veteran's Day weekend and took the "Big Bus Tour" on Sunday. Reasonably priced ($27 adults/$10 kids) for a "hop on/hop off" mode of transportation, in my opinion; much cheaper than taking a taxi to several different parts of the city. The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgable, and you can get some great photos while riding past the tourist attractions if you sit on the top of the double-decker bus.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouieBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. There really is no better way to see the amazing city of Philadelphia. We pride ourselves in working very hard to provide the best tour possible every time we leave stop #1 and we appreciate you noticing our efforts. When you come back to Philadelphia please ride our tour again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No A/C in the summer?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The live tour guides are outstanding and really demonstrate a passion for the city. However, in the hot and humid summer months, it would be nice to have a place to find refuge from the sun while you are just sitting there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Hi rdeanr,
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Tours Philadelphia. We are glad you had a good time on our tour and liked our staff. Sorry it was a bit warm on the bus, we are constantly working on improving our fleet of buses, and most of our buses now have AC. If you are coming back to Philadelphia please ride our tours again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK Sightseeing Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Philadelphia was our first stop while visiting the north eastern parts of the USA (including Detroit, New York, Boston, Pittsburgh, Toronto ...). We bought tickets for this tour at the Welcome Center and entered the first bus. Be aware that parking at the visitor center costs quite a lot of money but there is an early bird special. So if you enter the parking garage before 09am in the morning you are charged less. The bus was very old and made funny noises when stopping. Despite this fact the LIVE tour guide was very good and entertaining. The tour stops at all the interesting locations. They give you a very good map with all the attractions so you can plan in advance where you want to exit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Hi Jessy2012,
Thank You for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. We are glad you chose to stop in Philly as part of your East Coast trip. We are also happy you enjoyed our tour guides. We have improved our buses since your visit, so if you are planning on visiting Philadelphia again, come check us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Loved sitting on top of the bus. The tour guides really seemed to know the ins and outs of the city. The bus drivers were friendly and safe as well. We visited so many different places and were able to get off at any of these stops and walk around, take pictures, and sightsee. Then another bus along the same tour would be by every half an hour and you can jump on one of those in order to continue on the tour. Probably my favorite part of the trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MS2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking your time to review our company. We hope to see you in the city again and maybe try some of our other tours. We are always updating tours and creating new experiences for our visitors. Your feedback is what makes us grow and learn thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing