We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courtesy and Competence”
Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #9 of 75 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most popular Hop-On Hop-Off tour in the city of Philadelphia. Enjoy our 27 stops throughout the city, which are close to over 100 attractions. The tours are also live guided with Big Bus Certified tour guides. The tour has frequent departures from the N.E. Corner of 5th and Market Streets. (Operated year round) Peak Season hours 9:30 to 6:30 PM (last tour departs 5 PM.) Philly by Night 90 minute fully narrated city tour covering the Art Museum to the Waterfront. 8 PM. Departures Nightly from 12th.and Filbert Street. Night tours operate, seasonally, May 1 thru October 31.
media
1 review
“Courtesy and Competence”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The 2 people who guided us on our "BIG BUS TOUR" of Philadelphia were excellent. Their names are Daniel and Dennis. Their in-depth knowledge was thorough and the personality was classy. This is the Best tour experience we have taken and we recommend it for all visitors.You WILL enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank f c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. Your positive and detailed review of our tour is very valuable for our company. We are very happy you had a great experience. Please take our tour again when you come back to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    231
    74
    45
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a brief trip and this tour bus shows you the highlights , during an hour and a half drive in a comfortable, humourous manner. You can buy a 24 hour pass which probably permits you to go twice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ForestGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. Writing a review on tripadvisor means so much for our company, and we cannot thank you enough. Everyone here at Big Bus appreciates great reviews like yours, because it helps future guests plan their next visit to Philly. Hopefully thanks to your review more guests will choose the Big Bus and see Philly in the best way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was an awful experience. I was all excited to take a tour and the sales person told me that they are the same as the other Double Decker bus company (was a lie). I had to wait 20 minutes to just to transfer vehicles to go to the zoo. The tour guides were monotone and boring.

I jumped off one more time at Art Museum and then a bus never showed up again. i was waiting for 2 hours. My parents were tired and exausted. The girl on the phone that I called said that the bus had to detour but the red bus company was there several times???? This doesnt make sense.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JON T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Hi JON T,
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. We are sorry you did not have a good experience with us. We understand how important timing can be and we apologize that we let you down. If you are coming back to Philadelphia and would like to give us another shot please reach out to me directly at info@phillytour.com and I will personally make sure you have a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrific way to see a gorgeous city!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I loved this tour! We had only one night in this city and it was an awesome way to see a lot in a short amount of time. Lots of sights (first post office, famous steps from the Rocky movie, Love Park, Ben Franklin's grave, the Liberty Bell, etc.) and a knowledgeable guide (Cliff). I wish I could remember the driver's name because he was great, too!!!

Helpful?
Thank avavellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking your time to review our company. We hope to see you in the city again and maybe try some of our other tours. We are always updating tours and creating new experiences for our visitors. Your feedback is what makes us grow and learn thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Way to Explore the City.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were only in the city for three days and wanted to view as many sites as we could in this short time span, We were recommended to the Big Bus Tours and it certainly worked out in meeting our tourist needs.

It is a hop on and hop off double decker bus and there are many locations to see. We decided on the first day to stay on the bus and go through the entire route and just sightsee. The route is an hour and half long and there is a tour guide (not a can recording which there are on other hop and hop off buses that I have taken). The second day we jumped off at several locations (including Constitution Center and Eastern State Penitentary) and had no trouble getting back on the bus We never had to wait more than 10 minutes for the bus.You can actually call a number on the brochure and they can tell you where the bus is on the route and how long it will take for it to get to your location.

Both the tour guides and the drivers were excellent. When you purchase a ticket it is good for 24 hours so if you juggle times correctly you can get two days for the price of one. However,we decided to just buy a two day ticket and the second day came with a considerable discount.

Taking the bus for us was a fun and affordable way to see the city.



.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Philadelphia. Your positive and detailed review of our tour is very valuable for our company. We are very happy you had a great experience. Please take our tour again when you come back to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing