We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The TRUE Philly Cheesesteak”
Review of Larry's Steaks

Larry's Steaks
Ranked #466 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The TRUE Philly Cheesesteak”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

There are all kind of Philly Cheesesteak places in Philadelphia and surrounding area. Most are hyped up tourest traps. NOT Larry's. This cheesteak is genuine as is the staff. If you are not just real certain just what you want in a cheesesteak, ask the person at the order counter. They will help you order it just like you want it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFC585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent cheesesteak!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had been telling my friend about how good a Philly Cheesesteak could be. The first place we had one, at Reading Terminal, did not impress him. We went here after attending the Sigur Ros concert at the Mann Center...and I finally won him over. The cheesesteak was full of meat, hot peppers, pepperoni and a little tomato sauce. It was great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thero_Kenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food; Dingy Environment”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I must say the food was exceptional, BUT I cringed while the lady prepared my Phili Cheesesteak while eating her own. The only reason I didn't complain is because my husband asked me to "chill." I appreciate that the cook and preparer (person who put the vegetables on the sub) used gloves. But again, what difference does it make if you're also using them while eating your own food. Nevertheless, the cheesesteak (with fried onions and sweet peppers) was by far the best I've eaten.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best cheese steaks in Philly”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Way better than Jims and better services. The meat is very good. Not over cooked and flavorless. They give you a lot of meat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteak in Philly”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

OK- I don't know if it's the best cheesesteak in Philly. I haven't tasted that many. It is, though, the best I have ever had anywhere. My daughter graduated from Villanova and whenever we visited her, we always went to Larry's at least once. It's so much better than it's more famous competition. They aren't worth it if you're staying in the neighborhood. Larry's is worth the drive.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madrebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larry's Steaks also viewed

 
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Larry's Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing