We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best atmosphere around Fishtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankford Hall

Frankford Hall
Ranked #137 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
685 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere around Fishtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Frankford Hall is one of my favorite spots in the city because it is basically like taking a piece of Munich and sticking it in Philadelphia. The veggie burgers are just OK, but I haven't tried much else food-wise. Their beer selection is awesome... both local brews and German weiss beers and some others. This place is also really great in the winter because they open it up for fire pits and you can make s'mores. There are ping pong tables and they provide Jenga too. There seem to be a lot of families that gather here at times, so that could either be a good or bad thing, depending on your opinion. (I've even seem a kid's birthday party here- weird.) Great atmosphere and nice to be able to sit outside, enjoy the old building and the great German beers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeraKi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have been to Frankford hall many times, and i love it everytime. The atmoshere is relaxed. There beer selection is crazy, but they have more then the norm. The food is good, there giant prezels are always a hit. In my mind, you can never go grong with a place that sell liters!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Went to Frankford Hall for the first time today. The space was great, and service was good but the food was mediocre. I had the bratwurst which was served on a Martin's potato roll. Really? Others at the table had the classic burger which looked like it came right out of the freezer. It was flat and not very tasty. Another person had the Kanzler burger which looked and tasted like a burger should--thick and juicy. It was hard to believe the burgers came out of the same kitchen. The fourth person had the Weisswurst, again on a Martin's potato roll. It is a fun place and everyone looked like they were having a good time but the food was very disappointing. I expected more of Stephen Starr restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaNeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Took the family for my husbands birthday, almost impossible to get four kids to all like something but they did. Adults started off with big beers and kids soda from bar. Then off to food window for s'mores milkshake and giant pretzels as appetizers. Loved them, but decided to try a few things to share. We had the schwein oxen which was a thing of beauty. Frankfurter, bratwurst, potato pancakes, and cheese spaetzel. All were great. The only thing I did not think was authentic was the red cabbage, which was good but not as sweet as I was hoping for. Ping pong tables and Jenga kept the family busy. Everyone already planning our next visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skymom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One thing well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Atmosphere, This place has it in spades. The bar and menu aren’t as full featured as some places. But if you want to meetup with friends, have a beer and chat, you can do a lot worse, and few better.
And there is foosball.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yoshiofthewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankford Hall also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Frankford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing