We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful playground”

Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion)
Ranked #114 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smith Memorial Playground & Playhouse opened its doors in East Fairmount Park in 1899. Funded by Richard and Sarah Smith, the site was dedicated to the memory of their adult son, Stanfield. Smith’s beautiful, 24,000 square foot Playhouse was designed solely as a play space for children by one of Philadelphia’s most prominent late 19th century architects, James H. Windrim. The Playground is situated on its original historic landscape – 6 1/2 acres of open fields, wooded terrain, and sloped hills – and is home to the century old Ann Newman Giant Wooden Slide, a treasured play experience for generations of Philadelphia’s children, as well as other unique pieces of play equipment.Smith’s mission is to provide children 10 and under from diverse backgrounds with free and accessible one-of-a-kind play experiences that meet their physical, behavioral, and developmental needs.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful playground”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very affordable place for a family. You have to thank the Smith family for leaving this wonderful place for everyone to enjoy. The big wood slide and all of the other playground equipment is very well kept, and on a beautiful crisp fall day this place is very beautiful. If you have small children this is a must see for donations only.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank harrishwhippets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best park ever!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place is incredible for kids. They have a lot of space for them to play while making new friends, with the plus of being free. We went last Sunday to enjoy the last days of summer. The amenities are very well kept for a park nearly a century old. Heat can turn playgrounds into ovens, so keep an eye on that. The staff keeps the park clean, and inside the house the toys are in good shape. The best of all is the tot lot. Kids simply adore it. Try to get there early because after 11 am and 3 pm it could be cramped. There is no fee for parking or entrance fee, and I was told that you can book a special spot for a very convenient price if interested in launching birthday party there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a blast!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Everywhere you turn at Smith Kids Play Place, there's something new to explore and challenge. We stopped with our three year old on the way to the beach this year and found it was a great way to burn energy and make memories. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the park and the staff's helpful nature. Our daughter couldn't get enough of the wooden slide! She even enjoyed playing indoors on the train and in the little playhouse. Pack a lunch and sit under a tree. And pack a change of clothes if it's hot- the day we were there, they had an open fire hydrant to cool off in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank L_LeChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited in June 2012. It's amazing that this place was free. Very nice. Wish there were more places like this in smaller towns. What a concept....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank yuditst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great playgrounds, interesting place”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

First of all, it's free. You make a suggested donation of $5 per family, or you don't if you can't afford it. The outdoor playgrounds are clean, spacious and nicer looking than any playground we've been to, however if it is hot out, which it was-you really can't take advantage b/c there isn't much shade, and all of the equipment was burning hot :(

The inside part, in the mansion was really cool. It just has a different kind of vibe b/c it's basically a mansion full of toys...kind of like a kid's dream! The bathroom was clean and so were the toys.

There is a huge wooden slide that at first my son was afraid of, but once he went down, he kept running back up the ramp to go again!

I took away one star b/c of the heat factor. There should be some type of awning over the playground, at least over the Tot Lot section! :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank jedimomtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion) also viewed

 

Been to Smith Kids Play Place (Playground & Mansion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing