We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find anything positive about dinner served to three”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Farmers' Cabinet - CLOSED

The Farmers' Cabinet
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walnut Street between 11th and 12th
Transit: Easily accessible from the Broad Street Line - Walnut/Locust stop, or the Market Frankford Line (The El) - 11th Street stop.
Description: Early American era saloon and dining. Devoted to heirloom American cuisine, classically derived cocktails, and European & American craft beer. Enjoy our euro and domestic charcuterie, including house-made sausages, along with locally sourced food and field game.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to find anything positive about dinner served to three”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Let me qualify my opinion. Two of us are excellent at cooking from training at the CIA. The other was a woman with us who has had many excellent restaurant meals. We were uniformly underwhelmed at the experience here on a Wed. evening. Pea tendril salad description mouth watering on menu. Tendrils okay but not many, carrot was 3 paper thin slices, chevre was two small lumps, hazelnut vinagrette seemed missing, but waitress affirmed it wasn't. Smoked lamb leg @ 29.00 - but not worth $4.00, was dry overcooked 3 slices with no smoked flavor, on mashed sunchokes and supposedly sugar snap peas - (all two peas) . I wouldn't believe a good chef would have released these from a kitchen unless he/she would have consumed lots of the excellent beer served here. Good pub with loud music if you like that kind of atmosphere. I didn't. My friends thought meal mediocre at best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierreB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little place for happy hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped in here to rest our weary feet. Known to have great food and the atmosphere and staff is great. We did not eat this visit but enjoyed the $5.00 fizzes. Yum. We sat at a table by the open door and could enjoy the beautiful weather without the constant rush of people passing by. Very enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I notice that reviews for this place have all been mediocre in the past couple of months -- I think the primary chefs and staff must have gone away for the summer! We were the only ones in the back area dining room area, and no one came in all evening (although there were a few people in the front at the bar). The waiter was pleasant enough, especially when discussing the beers, which are obviously the selling point in this place. But after we ordered food, and then had some problems with it, he was indifferent and mostly absentee. Some of the food was OK, but most was not what was described on the menu. For instance, the aioli sauce that would have livened up the unseasoned fried oysters simply wasn't there, and we had to track down the waiter to ask for it on the side. And their special strawberry rhubarb bread pudding seemed to contain neither strawberries nor rhubarb -- the waiter mumbled something about being sure there was some strawberry jam (?!) in there somewhere.

We would have left early and certainly never stayed for dessert if it weren't for the two blues musicians who were playing in the background of our empty room. They added a nice atmosphere and were fun to talk to, and we felt like offering them some support.

But we'd certain never go back to this place or recommend it to anyone. Philadelphia has too many good restaurants to waste your time here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pathfinderNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great beer, ok food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The beer selection is very good. The short rib flatbread and the pulled pork were good, everything else was just ok. It took a long time to get a drink and our appetizers arrived After our meals. Our waiter seemed to always disappear.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food good but staff needs a workshop on treating customers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I stopped at the Farmer's Cabinet last night before attending a performance at the Walnut Street Theater. We had no knowledge of the FC but were walking by and decided to give it a try. There are two entrances, one by the dining room and one by the bar. Both were blocked by tables so we made our way in via the bar. No one greeted us as the bartender was right there cleaning glasses. We headed to the dining room and almost tripped over a step that was a surprise. We went to the hostess who asked us to wait while she tied menus together (huh??).

We were seated at a long table and sat on a bench. I realize the table and bench concept is to evoke an earlier age but they did have chairs back "in the day". Our waiter was friendly and professional and made us feel at home. We shared an appetizer and a dessert and each of us ordered a sandwich. All of the food was quite good and the portions were plenty big. Our plates for the various courses were brought to us by servers who were not our waiter. He rarely appeared at the table to ask how things were.

The beer selection is amazing. The waiter asked what type of beer I might prefer and I asked for a wheat beer. He seemed stumped at the request and then suggested a beer that did not meet the request. I knew it was a good beer so I agreed to it. I was definitely surprised that he seemed lacking in knowledge about beer in an establishment that has such an excellent selection. Late in the meal, I noticed on the menu that we had arrived during "happy hour" which made beers half price (nice!). I decided to have a second beer but realized it was now 8 minutes past "happy hour". The waiter informed me sheepishy that I missed the happy hour cutoff. How can a waiter not inform a beer drinker of the "Happy Hour" special offer? That is terrible.

I would not go back to Farmer's Cabinet. I would definitely recommend the food and the beer. The prices are also very reasonable. However, the staff (on this evening) is definitely in need of a tune-up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rancocasrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers' Cabinet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing