We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Talula's Garden

Talula's Garden
Reserve with OpenTable
Talula's Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 4,406 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th between Walnut and Locust
Description: Behind the wrought iron gate, past the herbaceous patio and through the atrium is Talula's Garden, the warm and elegant Washington Square eatery from Aimee Olexy and Starr Restaurants. The modern menu, prepared with carefully-sourced ingredients and a light European touch, changes with the seasons. The artful cuisine, hospitable staff, sustainable spirits, and a focus on cheese make the dining experience here incredibly memorable.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We knew it was gonna be good as soon as we walked in. Every course was delicious, the service was great, the ambience is perfect but it was pricey. I really look forward to going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    209
    72
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere - NOT BYOB”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I may have even liked the atmosphere here at Talula's Garden better than the food... and the food was exceptional. It is decorated so beautifully & whimsical but also so inviting. Our waiter was superb & very knowledgable. When we started asking questions about the cheeses on our starter course, he knew the answers to them all. Our only hiccup was that we brought 2 bottles of wine because this restaurant is listed as BYOB. There was no mention of any corking fee, but at the end of the meal, they charged us with a corking fee that was more than most bottles of wine. We thought this was too outrageous, but when asked to speak to the manager, she did not handle it very well & simply told us that was the policy & basically, "deal with it." Not even a sorry. It was disappointing because everything was so wonderful up unitl that point.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Laris2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Do not let them put you in the bar area!!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

A trendy Philadelphia resturant , food is actually very good but very eclectic. Please note: do not let them seat you in the bar area .. it is noisy and and the seats by the window are drafty cold. Book the main dining area they will not ask you when you call , you then be able to enjoy your food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Yankeefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food place and service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Definetly one of the best restaurants in Philly if not the best.
The food wwd amazing, from the brioche to the dedert.
The service was great and the decor is really nice.
I could not recommend morr.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rioleb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first time at Talula's Garden. The cheese tray was great. I had the lamb which was amazing. It was my wife's birthday and they brought her out a special treat. Can't wait to go back when it's warm so that we can sit outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miceisnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talula's Garden also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Talula's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing