We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Macy's Philadelphia
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.00*
and up
Macy's Center City Historical Store Tour
Ranked #3 of 143 Shopping in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Retail shopping in old fashioned elegance, Macy's towering ceilings and century-old architecture is a must-see. Concerts on the St. Louis World's Fair Pipe Organ are performed twice daily.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Macy's is 1 of my favorite places to shop and I thought this historical place would make even better. Really...not so much. It was extremely disappointing. It was messy and not really organized. Nothing like the Macy's in NYC. And honestly I didn't even notice the organ. Oh well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Venessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    110
    35
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Organ, Eagle and Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a beautiful building the details inside are amazing. Lovely staircases, ceilings and floors. It is hard to imagine that this is how department stores were originally designed. It is wonderful that Macy's has preserved the original Wanamaker building. The organ and eagle are both still there and both still impressive. We went specifically to hear the daily organ concert. My husband found a spot where he could view the organ and the organist. I shopped while listening to the music. Truly a lovely way to spend an hour. If you are a fan of organs this 29,000 pipe organ would be a must see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Macys AKA John Wanmaker Building Eagle and Organ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Too often missed is the Wanamaker building, holding within its walls the beautiful bronze eagle
located in the center of the hall, and the # 1 Organ in Market price and number of pipes is the
Largest in the World. There are scheduled times that organists play and it takes me back to
a time when beauty was appreciated

The Wanamaker building itself is a beautiful piece of architecture

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordogne, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go there to see the organ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well, I am not that of a shopping addict but I went into Macy's to get some fresh air and I was flabbergasted by the organ inside. It has just been renoveated and they were testing it. It is an incredible thing to see and the sound was so melodious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabistatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the original Wannamaker's (first dept. store in the U.S.) it was like walking into a store in the 1950s! If you like nostalgia - this is the place for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank judishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macy's Philadelphia also viewed

 

Been to Macy's Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing