We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Farm to Table Restaurant”
Review of The Farm and Fisherman - CLOSED

The Farm and Fisherman
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Quince
Description: The Farm and Fisherman is a 30-seat white tablecloth BYOB featuring regional produce, meat and fish prepared by owner and Executive Chef Joshua Lawler, a former chef de cuisine at the quintessential farm-to-table restaurant Blue Hill at Stone Barns. At The Farm and Fisherman, Chef Lawler serves what he calls "snapshots of the seasons here in the Delaware Valley," incorporating interesting and unusual ingredients produced by area farmers.
phila
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Farm to Table Restaurant”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've been here several times and always enjoyed a great meal. The ingredients are very fresh and the food is well made. Not much on decor, but who cares as the food more than makes up for it. Plus it's a BYOB which keeps the price within reason. It's located in a residential area of the city that is very safe.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ky0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Big plates, Small portions, Good service”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A tiny BYO restaurant on a street of shops and galleries. The food was tasty and well prepared but portions were tiny. Our server was attentive and excellent but the closeness of the tables created an odd dynamic. On one side we had friendly co-diners who struck up a conversation. On the other side, the proprietor engaged in a long personal conversation with apparent friends. She stood so close to my dining companion that she nearly bumped him while gesturing with her hands.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingthruhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,228 reviews
802 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Ate a lovely Dinner”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife, brother n sister n law had a lovely dinner that was certainly not run of the mill.
The dishes are very interesting and good with combinations you might not expect.
Over all it's a small room with lots of ambiance and atmosphere.
A place worth trying and enjoying.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing complicated - just delicious”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Had a fantastic meal at The Farm and Fisherman tonight. Don't be put off by the neighborhood, which is so-so at best. The restaurant itself is a little haven (and it is little - be sure to get reservations). The menu is simple: 4 first courses, 4 second courses (which can double as firsts); 4 entrees; and 2 desserts. I had the bloody beet steak, which is neither a steak nor bloody, but just fantastic, to start and bacon wrapped pork as an entree (would it be rude to lick the plate). The dessert I ordered, a fluffy biscuit topped with fresh fruit and even fresher whipped cream, was dreamy. As I said, the restaurant is small and lively (not perfect for a traditional romantic dinner, but the food is so good you won't care). No alcohol, so you will want to bring your own bottle of wine. Everyone, from the waitstaff to the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for a fantastic meal out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruise_Ship_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“small, intimate, noisy and great food”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

we have tried to get into this restaurant 3-4 times without reservations and since there are only about 8 tables, we have not been successful...tried again this week and we were lucky...b.y.o.b. which we didnt do so no wine with dinner..had a salmon cake appetizer, wife had a beet salad ...entree was chicken for my wife and striped bass for me....desert was a indescribable taste sensation....dinner was excellent...this requires reservations unless, like us , we live in the neighborhood so just "went by" ...nouvelle so dont expect big servings but what you do get is great food and wonderful service....a restaurant where you would take out of town guests in a minute

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animaleyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farm and Fisherman also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing