We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight, Surprise”
Review of Mica

Mica
Reserve with OpenTable
Mica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #409 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chestnut Hill
Cross street: Evergreen Avenue
Transit: Mica Restaurant is easily accessible from Center City, Philadelphia by Septa regional rail lines. The R7 Chestnut Hill East and the R8 Chestnut Hill West lines both terminate at Chestnut Hill.
Description: Mica Restaurant will re-open under new management on Sept. 13th 2016. We will offer the same great service and food, now BYOB. We look forward to serving.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delight, Surprise”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went for our anniversary, knowing this was a splurge meal. We opted for the 5-course tasting menu which turned out to be exactly what we hoped for. Each course presented beautifully, from the servers style and narrative, to the way the food was plated. Best of all, the flavors were refreshing and delicious, with that wonderful element of good surprise when a creative blend of flavors and textures sing in sweet harmony.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Mica - Excellent Food and Superb Service”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We found Mica on OpenTable.com and the description intrigued us so we had dinner there. From the second we entered the door, we were treated like royalty. The staff was professional and extremely accommodating. My colleague and I decided to share the tasting menu with a few additional appetizers and everything was superb. While their own description describes the restaurant as American, there is a very strong French influence which we enjoyed. Each dish has a unique presentation and flavor. Even the bread was amazing - one of the best I've had. Mica is truly a Chestnut Hill neighborhood gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaRubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good gourmet place. Wine selection is limited and severely overpriced.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place with excellent service. On the expensive side for what you are getting. Chef does knows his stuff and food is very good and presented properly. Would be better place if it was BYOB or had more toned down wine prices. It is 4x and 5x versus store prices. Overall it is nice place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laserza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Chef's Tasting Menu is a Fun Night Out”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We made last minute reservations here after reading about it online. We are not from this area of Philly, but had a birthday party in Chestnut Hill that afternoon, so why not stick around for dinner, especially with the opportunity to dine at Mica.

We were seated for our 6pm reservation in the back room of the restaurant, which was dark and romantic. We looked over the menu and decided on the 7 course tasting (over the 5 course, based on the fact that the 7 course included a cheese tasting. And I love cheese.) I also added the wine pairing to my tasting, which included generous pours of 7 wines!

Service was top notch, water always filled, bread offered frequently, servers were knowledgeable but knew when to "back away" so we could eat, discuss and enjoy.

The fun part of the tasting was not knowing what was coming next. I wish I had a score card to keep track of the dishes and ingredients and the wines paired.

It was a fun culinary experience and would be fun to do with friends who can appreciate the art of creating spectacular food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mica is outstanding!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have been to Mica several times and each time the food, service and experience was outstanding. If you enjoy great food and dining, it is certainly worth the trip. Make a reservation though as the dining area is somewhat small. Your taste buds will be very appreciative! The flavors are incredible with each dish and the presentations are beautiful. Friendly staff, comfortable atmosphere. You can also go somewhat casual.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mica also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Mica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing