We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth A Stop”

By George! Pizza, Pasta & Cheesesteaks
Ranked #221 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Brick Oven Pizza, Cheese Steaks, Chicken Cheese Steaks, Stromboli and Calzones, Gourmet Sandwiches, Pasta Salads, Caesar Salad, Hot and Cold Italian Specialties, Eggplant Parmesan, Chicken Parmesan, Baked Ziti, Sausage Peppers & Onions, Fresh Home-Made Pastas (cut to order) Frozen Pastas as well as Marinara and other Incredible Sauces, Pizza Dough, Fresh Mozzarella, Antipasti, and Bake-at-Home Stromboli and much more. "YOU HAVE A STEAK IN IT" Our mission is at the heart of what we do: "buy one, feed one." With every Cheesesteak sold, we use a portion of our profits to feed a child in need. We're passionate about helping those in our local and global communities while doing what we love-serving you.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth A Stop”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Had a hankering for a cheese-steak as soon as I got off the bus from NYC. Heard good things about this place. I literally got the last sandwich and boy was it yummy. I just feel bad I wasn't able to finish it. It's so filling. Had 5 bites and gave the rest to my husband. Would come back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    58
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wanted a slice of pizza when we were told the cheesesteak was their specialty. So we tried it. It should come with a warning that it should be shared. Tons of meat, homemade cheese sauce, peppers, great combination. We are still talking about it. Made the other cheesesteak we ate look bad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank oaspms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Recently grabbed lunch at By George. The pizza was very good, and the service was friendly. They had several yummy looking pastas that I would love to try on another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPeach1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great lasagna”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The service was fast and friendly. The food was fantastic! I'd definitely go back. The lasagna was served over meat sauce and was as good as any I've ever had.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BTRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“cheesesteak is tops”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a "By George" cheesesteak. Wow. I loved it. They include a large portion of meat. The cheesesteak was so large that two of us shared it. I highly recommend that you visit the Reading Terminal Market, with 80 food vendors. There is something for everyone. By George! Pizza, Pasta & Cheesesteaks is near the outside, near one of the entrances. Get their cheesesteak. The price may be slightly higher than at other shops, but the increased value and taste is well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobfox98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed By George! Pizza, Pasta & Cheesesteaks also viewed

 

Been to By George! Pizza, Pasta & Cheesesteaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing