We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk By and Throw a Penny”

Benjamin Franklin's Grave
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Philadelphia 27-Stop Double Decker Tour Full-Day Pass
Ranked #60 of 444 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Walk By and Throw a Penny”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Not sure I would go out of my way to come here but it's right in the main area so easy to walk by and throw a penny onto the grave. Not sure the significance of this but it's the thing to do. You can see the grave from the street or pay $2 to walk through the cemetary. I opted to view from the street and there is a plaque letting you know Ben Franklin is there. Sort of a neat thing if you are nearby.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    106
    77
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel, Jerusalem
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“so simple!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

coming from Washington DC after a 2 day trip to see all the monuments it was weird to see that such an important figure in the US history has such a simple grave. I guess it is also part of the family request but still, so close to the Constitution plaza and other important attractions around it's almost as someone tried to quite it down.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Other graves to see also”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Close from the street, Benjamin Franklin and his wife's marble slab and pitch pennies onto it. I opted to pay the $2.00 admission and walk through the cemetery. Important figures in Philadelphia are there also, Philadelphia's wartime firsts, physician in psychiatry and many others. They do have group tours and some times have to catch the cemetery when it is open.
If you are just looking to pass by, it is very convenient to take photos from the street of Ben and wife.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Grave of our forefather...”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very solemn to stand where Ben Franklin is buried, beautiful cemetery and church. I was here past admission hours but you can see the grave from the street and still be close enough. Go here for sure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Important Grave”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We did not go into the graveyard as we had other sites and sights to see, but we threw pennies onto the grave in honor of my most revered, beloved historian, Ben Franklin. He and his wife are buried here and the grave is a simple, marble slab which you can see fairly close from the street. What a marvelous, great man. Wish we had the time to peruse the famous Christ Church cemetery. Well, next visit we will definitely visit the cemetery itself and of course, its most distinguished, accomplished resident.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Franklin's Grave also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Franklin's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing