We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penny Saved Is a Penny Earned”

Benjamin Franklin's Grave
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #59 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Attraction details
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Penny Saved Is a Penny Earned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went by and put a penny on his grave for luck. Don't go in cemetery, Ben is buried right by corner near US Mint. Worth stopping by and paying my respects.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    104
    72
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You don't have to pay for the whole tour.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was nice to tour the cemetery where Ben Franklin is buried, along with other signers of the Declaration of Independence, but I didn't like that we had to pay to do it. I understand, of course, that the money helps to keep the cemetery in good shape, but I thought it was a little expensive for a walk through a graveyard. You can see Ben Franklin's grave from the sidewalk for free.

This sounds like a criticism, but I don't mean it that way. It was nice seeing this place and paying my respects to people who helped fight for our independence.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't have to enter the cementary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Benjamin Franklin's grave could be found at the corner of the cementary that faced a street. You could viewed the grave from the outside as the gates/ fence is grated and not the stone fence.
Don't forget to leave a penny on his grave for luck. And if you are done, the US Mint is just across the street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MzNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great side trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice place to take a break on a hot summer day. Lovely cemetery where 6 signers of the Declaration are interned. Lots of benches and shade. Several unusual headstones. Enjoyed watching people throw money on Franklin's grave as a way to help support this cemetery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, OH
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“"A quick walk-by"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stopped here on way back to our car. Is not far from the Independence Hall visitor center. We didn't go on an official tour but just walked by the gate behind which is his grave marker. There were scattered pennies on the grave.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank doctormomStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin Franklin's Grave also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin Franklin's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing