We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks are deceiving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Han Dynasty

Han Dynasty
Ranked #119 of 4,317 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
pa.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My son arranged this reservation. I was not happy when I walked in as it was very loud. They took us downstairs which i thought would be an improvement; however, the ambience was very poor. The tables were covered in cheezy red plastic cloths with heavy see through plastic on top BUT the food and service were very good. So if you don't care about "looks," I would say it is a good place to eat. I would not go back because I do care about looks and noise but then I'm in my 60's. For young people, which the restaurant was full of, I think the experience would be much better. Also the main dining area when you first walk in looks fine - just not downstairs. That is reserved for bigger parties.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bongail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    94
    32
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Han Dynasty is ranked as one of the top Chinese places in the country and it totally lived up to expectations. It was delicious and well priced. I'd recommend the crunchy cucumbers appetizer and the garlic sauce. Careful - it is spicy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Authentic Sezchuan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've never had such authentic Sezchuan before. The place looks like a hole in the wall but the menu is jumping with surprising novel choices well prepared and satisfying. You can tell, it's buzzing inside with a diverse crowd. Will certainly return

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine food and fine service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Listen up!!! When the menu states the dish is a 7 on a scale of 10, be ready for the fire!!!!! Nice menu. Nice service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck1980_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
163 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not as good as reviews had led me to believe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

First, our waitress overpitched how much food we'd need to order to satisfy three people. We ordered noodles plus three entrees. Way too much food for three. She also overstated how hot the entrees would be. All of the dishes we ordered were mild, despite the menu indications. She also directed us away from what appeared to be more authentic cuisine on the menu. If I had been alone, I would have picked differently. All told, the food was fine but it wasn't fabulous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank niteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Han Dynasty also viewed

 

Been to Han Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing