We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Center city prices in northeast Philly!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma's Cafe & Restaurant

Emma's Cafe & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Emma's Cafe & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #669 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Center city prices in northeast Philly!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Food was good for the most part was talked into the chillian see bass never has it before it was ok except for the mushy & fishy part then when the bill came I was shocked to find out it cost $28 !! They should really write the prices on the menu!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustangnikki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been here several times. Always good food with great service. And a BYOB. How awesome is that. I will continue to eat here and I hope you will too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hurl_Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous find on Frankford Ave.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Emma's and had a nice surprise. This BYOB cafe is low key, no frills and simply delicious. The staff, especially the owner/chef, Edmond, were friendly & welcoming. The food was fresh, home made and were very generous portions. I had spinach ravioli stuffed with creamy gargonzola cheese.The raviolli dough is thin & light and covered with a very tasty, freshly made tomato sauce that had little bits of tomato and sauteed baby spinach leaves. My Creme Brulee dessert was equally a delight on my palate. We went on a Thursday night making reservations at the last minute without a problem. They highly recommend making an advanced reservation for Friday or Saturday nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbee853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times in the past year. A group of friends get together on Tuesday nights before a card league and we try to hit different restaurants in the area. Emma's ranks right up there with consistent quality and value. We use the Restaurant.com coupons and there is never an issue. In particular, the Ceasar salad and the various chicken dishes are outstanding. We have probably tried everything on the menu and have not been disappointed. We will continue to patronize this fine, local establishment. In addition, it is BYOB and that helps keep down the costs of frequent dining. Here's to hoping the neighborhood continues to support this little gem. I know our group will. See you on Tuesday Eddie !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Emma's has some of the best Italian food i ever tasted. this little gem at Frankford and Cottman is so good. i ran across it by luck while i was visiting my daughter in the Northeast. Great Apps, Pasta, Seafood, Steaks, Chops you name it's outstanding tasting food. i try to make IT up at least once a month. it's worth the ride. it's also a BYOB.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Emma's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing