We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious food & wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbuzzo

Barbuzzo
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbuzzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station
Description: Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.
New York City, New York
1 review
“delicious food & wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went with a friend for a late night dinner and it was delicious! quality food, service and drinks! ingredients were fresh

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    194
    36
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Tapas treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

After a long day of meeting and discussions and ready for a late night meal and a few drinks, a few of us stumbled into Barbuzzo. It was a tight squeeze in the narrow bustling eatery but cozy and comfortable once settled. With a couple of vegetarians, a weight watcher and a confirmed foodie at the table it could have been a disaster but ended up being perfect options of food and drink. The butternut squash risotto arancini were good but the stuffed meatballs were absolutely delicious and well worth going back for. Pizzas are fired in the in-house wood oven, and looked fantastic - thin, crispy crust and simple, fresh toppings. Rounded out by a diverse beer list with a few local craft treasures, and really great friendly service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We went there after seeing the ballet the Nutcracker. It was 9:15pm, my husband and I were looking for food. And we walked pass this restaurant. I took out my phone and surfed on tripadvisor then I found it worth of giving a shot. So although making no reservation in advance, we ddecided to stand in line and wait for a table. Fortunately, we got to sit at the bar within 10 mins. It was very crowded, so make a reservation if possible. Food was tasty and affordable. Good beer and plenty of selection for wine. We did not get to try a lot of dishes, so I cannot criticise too much. But I wish they could put more materials on their pizza so it would not look so plain.

Helpful?
Thank obdo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Don't forget to reserve!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorites in Philly as it's cool, creative, and always crowded. This past visit left me a little less enthusiastic. Friends loved the chopped liver. The fresh fish and pasta dishes are always wonderful and they will make a gluten free pizza. For me this time around, I would've liked more variety, especially for vegans and vegetarians. It's a loud and friendly place, but not inexpensive. You'll probably make friends at the surrounding tables as they remain very close. Philadelphia is still a happening place to dine, thanks in part to Barbuzzo.

Helpful?
Thank catd411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“hard to get into”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Barbuzzo is hard to get into. If you can, go. Who cares what time? The food is exceptional. Make sure you leave room for the Budino. If you are traveling alone, try the bar for seating

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbuzzo also viewed

 

Been to Barbuzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing