We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small, but great food”
Review of Barbuzzo

Barbuzzo
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbuzzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 4,357 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station
Description: Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very small, but great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not a good place for a large group as this is a very small restaurant. strongly recommend calling ahead or reservation. We walked in and sat at the bar around 5:00. We were able to get bar seats easily, but shortly after that there were people waiting in line outside the door, and we were told that the next available table for 4 would be 11:00. A very popular place. We had wonderful chopped salads at the bar and appetizers. The food is excellent. Too bad it's so tiny and cramped inside. It was too cold to eat outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    198
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice Us vision of Medittzranean food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice small retaurent cantered around Italian food tainted with American flavours. Thin crisp pizzas, good wine and a lively atmosphere. Don't expect true Italy there, but a good time with nice food in a cool setting. Booking needed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went with 2 others for a GNO before a play. Our server was perfect: friendly and attentive without standing over us. She had great recommendations, and everything we had was delicious. Also, everything was seasoned very differently so no two dishes had the same notes. For sure the budino was supurb, as was the uovo pizza with the earthy truffle and perfectly cooked egg. The skirt steak was great, and the shrimp were cooked perfectly. All and all a terrific night and I look very forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inaddeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and a top-notch staff”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great food and a top-notch staff

We poked our heads into Barbuzzo on our way to a show Saturday night to get an idea of how likely we would be to get a table later. The Maître d’ let us know they didn’t have any reservations but that he would see what he could do and that we should stop back. I admit we were not very hopeful but it was only 2 blocks from the theatre so after the show we went back and were so very glad that we did.

While there was a little crowd around the host stand he instantly recognized us, thanked us for coming back, and immediately walked us to a table. The restaurant is fairly narrow and the number of tables makes it feel a bit crowded but the staff is really friendly and they do a fantastic job of allowing you to pass by without making you feel like you’re in the way. I can’t count the number of exasperated looks or frustrated grunts I’ve gotten in other restaurants that were a bit on the cramped side but they were nowhere to be found here. Along with a number of 2 seat tables that were combined to fit parties of varying sizes there is also a decent sizes bar that ran the length of one wall and was constantly full of people. As soon as one party left it seemed there was another ready to take their place. At the end of the bar is the wood-fire brick oven that they use to make pizza. This gives the majority of the restaurant a great view of the pizza-making process, and even into the oven itself.

The food is Mediterranean small plates, while the menu wasn’t as expansive as you might find in some tapas restaurants it did cover a wide range and we had absolutely no difficulty picking out a variety of foods to try, in fact the biggest difficulty was paring the list down to 4-5 things. Two that really stood out were the roasted Brussels Sprouts and the Lardo pizza. The sprouts were cooked to perfection still with a hint of crispness and not drowning in oil and the pizza was covered in a variety of mushrooms that were amazing. Our waiter was terrific, attentive and helpful without making you feel rushed or overwhelmed with choices. For desert we shared the bourbon glazed bread pudding and that alone was worth going back for… it was done to perfection without being terribly sweet (which I don’t typically like) or being overwhelmed with the flavor of bourbon (which would turn off my wife).

They have a very decent wine and beer selection. The draught selection was small but they hit all the major categories and they did have a great selection of bottles. The wine selection was great, focusing on some of the Mediterranean varietals that you don’t see very often outside of specialty shops and restaurants.

We felt the food was very reasonably priced especially when you consider the location and the amazing quality. The only thing that we weren’t absolutely thrilled with was the price of drinks they did seem to be a bit on the high side, especially some of the beers, but not exorbitantly so.

We will definitely be back, with friends, and would happily recommend it to any else to try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We heard great things about Barbuzzo from local friends. Place was packed & made res weeks in advance but was only able to get a 5:15pm table. Meeting with old friends and none minded the early timeframe. Bar staff & waitstaff were okay---food was good, but nothing special. Cured meat plate was stingy but delicious. Meatballs were tasty and Brussels and beet salad were nice sides. The salted caramel dessert was amazing--the one true standout of the evening. Coffee was so-so. Drinks were imaginative and sangria had nice depth. All in all a great night with good friends highlights any dinner venue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PB99power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbuzzo also viewed

 

Been to Barbuzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing