We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy hr”
Review of Sampan

Sampan
Reserve with OpenTable
Sampan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walnut
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“happy hr”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

enjoyed mushroom dumplings and chicken bao bun but it was fried! no thanks. Price was decent for happy hr.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank elissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    117
    34
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Decent food - a bit trendy for my taste”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I recently dined with a colleague at Sampan. While I think the food had some nice flavors, this place just didn't do it for me. First off, it was a too "trendy" - seemed like a place to be seen, which is just not my taste. Second, several of the dishes we ordered were pretty greasy, also not my taste. On the bright note, the prices were super reasonable. I was shocked at the price tag. The plates seemed small but they were very filling.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious ”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed the food I ordered. It was perfectly seasoned and a good amount of food. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Laurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a wonderful meal here this past weekend. Did the tasting menu which was nice the first time around to see what we liked the most. The sea bass was the most amazing dish! Wish I had the recipe! Service was terrific and friendly. The only complaint I would have is that some of the dishes come out much too fast. A slower pace would have been preferred.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollisPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a really memorable meal! Big group, they were very accommodating to us. The food was excellent - family style appetizers, creative menu, excellent presentation and went out of their way, un-asked, to prepare gluten free apps plates for the 1 GF person in the party. The main courses were all fabulous; delicious, creative and well presented. Everyone was more than pleased, and our party were all well-traveled and discriminating diners. The service was outstanding; actually memorable. From the great care taken with the gluten free diner, the extra staff to make sure all of our mains were delivered on time, to the constant presence of pleasant and attentive servers, we were superbly taken care of. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wish_I_Were_There_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampan also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Sampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing