We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good aura, good service”
Review of Sampan

Sampan
Reserve with OpenTable
Sampan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walnut
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Good aura, good service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

the place had a good aura about it (this was late night, on a Saturday night). Service was good. I am not crazy about Asian fusion food in general so read other people's reviews for info about the food :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solomon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    118
    34
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Chef's Tasting menu is delicious”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The neighborhood has many, many great restaurants and Sampan is one of the best. We wanted the full experience so we ordered the Chef's Tasting menu which allowed us 7 choices from the menu plus dessert. We had quail, sea bass, kimchi, korean bbq, and chicken all in the same meal. The crispy brussel sprouts was the most delicious item on the menu. Atmosphere is fun--close quarters--and the food comes to your table as it is available from the kitchen so it's always hot. There's a cool outdoor bar in the back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlee7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the Best Happy Hours Ever”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Loved dining here. Heard about it via word of mouth and via social media for having probably the best Happy Hour in Philly and I agree.

Loved the Asian fusion concept. The Pork Banh Mi was my favorite and the edamame dumplings and Korean BBQ satay were other favorites. The happy hour prices are a steal! I can't wait to come back and try the full tasting menu.

Also the service is fantastic. Both times my servers were extremely friendly and on top of their service. Really appreciated their smiles.

Will be recommending this place to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjl3045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Solid food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Sampan is a great place for cocktails and a light dinner. Their Asian tapas offers a lot of tastes. Everything I had was solid. They also have a lot of cocktails and some local beer on tap. The happy hour is a great value. There's also a fun vibe here. It's a great place to drink and socialize.

Helpful?
Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Asian Tapas Restaurant”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great idea here of applying the methodology of a tapas restaurant with Asian Fusion food.

My wife and I stumbled across this place by accident. We were staying at the Holiday Inn Express mid-town, went around the corner and voila, it was there. We didn't know what we wanted to eat but when I looked in and saw the place packed on a Monday at 8:30, that said something.

To add, there was a women outside the restaurant who told us it was probably the best food in Philly and that she comes here often. Her point was that the food was very favorable. Trust me she was right. The flavors and delicate tastes from the dishes we had were superb.

The fact we could order so that both of us could taste different dishes really added to the pleasure of eating here.

This is not a cheap restaurant by any means, and don't expect huge portions like you get at chain restaurants, but then again you don't need huge portions.

Service isn't stuffy, friendly and attentive enough that you can enjoy yourself and not feel rushed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coachboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampan also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Sampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing