We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to experience the city”

Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Two-Hour Mural Mile Philadelphia Walking Tour
Ranked #21 of 76 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come see our amazing collection of murals and other public artwork! The City of Murals is now available for guided tours all year long. Please check our Tour Calendar to see the latest offerings open to the public. A mural tour is a world-class experience for the whole family and any group.All mural tour proceeds benefit Philadelphia Mural Arts Program initiatives. We appreciate your support, please join us soon!
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the city”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had been to Philadelphia before but returned on the recommendation of friends to do the tour of the murals. We were not disappointed and would recommend the tour to everyone. Adults and kids alike will enjoy the fun of "discovering" the next mural as you follow the route. The murals are wonderful pieces of art made more interesting by their locations next to a car park or on a restaurant wall or next to a Subway restaurant. An easy walk and the murals are very close together. A great way to soak up some of the wonderful atmosphere of a truly welcoming city.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    18
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“private tour”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

On my recent visit to Philly, we were unable to take a group tour so we booked a private mural tour. Our guide Benjamin was very friendly, enthusiastic, and knowledgable and made the 2 hour Mural Mile walking tour entertaining. We learned so much that we would never have known otherwise about the meaning behind the artwork. Highly recommend this activity!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank majasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great way to explore parts of Philly”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Philadelphia is the outdoor mural capital of the world with more than 2,500 murals on the sides of buildings around the city. Originally started to combat urban graffitti, the Philadelphia Mural Arts program operates from a small spartan studio in the Gallery Shopping Mall on Market Street while splashing gorgeous and fantastic visions of possible worlds in unlikely and unlooked for spots across the city. The Mural Mile tour, an easy walk around center city, takes the viewers past murals rooted in visions of the city past, present and hoped for future. We have walked the Mural Mile tour with out of town friends and found it both an illuminating and enjoyable way to spend an afternoon or long summer evening. The walk takes visitors into some of Philly's most charming neighborhoods. The Mural Mile tour is free and self-guided while other mural tours have fees and are guided by Mural Arts staff. Some tours are conducted on trollys, bikes and even the Market-Frankford elevated line. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jfcstcrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love Letters”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My original plan was to take the Mural Walking Tour. However, as things go, I messed up the address and didn't arrive on time. Instead I took the Love Letters tour. The tour takes you into West Philadelphia via subway where you view the art work of created by Stephen Powers. According to our phenomenal and knowledgeable guide, Emily, the murals are meant to show his love for the city of Philadelphia and an attempt to win back an ex-girlfriend.

During the 90 minute tour, you view some of the murals from the subway and some from various platforms at which we stopped. Bear in mind, that you won't see every single mural and you will also only see pieces of some. It is worth the cost and the 90 minutes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bad tour of some great murals”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Philadelphia is known for its murals and we decided to go on the masterpiece tour. We were very excited but the tour definitely did not meet up with the most basic of expectations.

The tour took place in a trolley that was noisy and uncomfortable. This could have been something we could put up with except that the windows were so bad that they made looking at the murals difficult. When the windows were down the trolley became very hot and the glass was of an older type that was not entirely even. Opening the window created a darkened effect that miscoloured the outside world and making the murals seem less than they really were. The windows were so low that only a small child could look out.

The guide began by asking us not to speak while she was speaking as the noise in the trolley made hearing difficult. Fine. Then she proceeded in talking non stop for almost the whole tour. Just weird.

The guide was very pleased with the organization and the "real" murals which she called their murals - and I have no problem with this. But she was also very negative about any other kinds of street art (legal or not). This made the tour less about art and more about a propaganda tour for the murals program. Not ok if we were paying for a murals tour. She talked about murals as we passed them going much to fast to see anything and only stopped at a very small number of walls.

All in all a very disappointing affair. My tip is to buy a book and take the tour yourself if you are a group of four you could probably rent your own car and driver to do the tour and stop where you want.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 12shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mural Arts Program of Philadelphia - Mural Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing