We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homemade Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panini's Trattoria - CLOSED

Panini's Trattoria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Benjamin Franklin House
Description: Family-owned; outdoor seating; across from Franklin's Block; BYOB restaurant
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
503 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Homemade Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

A small restaurant, 5 minutes walk from the Liberty Bell Centre. I dined inside alone & was made to feel welcome by the staff. I had spaghetti pomodoro, which came with salad or soup to start with for free. The food I ate was simple, but very well cooked & also good value. I would visit again to enjoy their delicious, home-cooked food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lrnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For lovers of good Italian home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for just a night in Philly went walking around and found this modest place where Brian invited us to try their food. Everything was made from scratch and it was gorgeous. This is a most stop for those who love great home Italian cooking.

Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Inexpensive but not quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This place offered free mimosas and breakfast for two only cost $10 + tip, but we found a hair in one of the meals, the eggs were overcooked and chewy and water had "stuff" floating in it. Staff was pleasant but slow. I would not return. If you're looking for low budget and don't care about sanitary conditions this is your place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover8098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Entusiasm!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The host and servers were warm and accommodating, telling me they'd just won two awards, promising me a free glass of wine in this BYOB joint; unfortunately, they had run out. Ah, well. I ordered the steak dinner on special, the salad was delicious, the bread accompanied by a very nice herbed oil. Well, the steak was not up to the quality of the rest, it was medium rather than the M/rare I'd ordered, and the cut of meat was not up to snuff, gristly and tough. When I mentioned it to the server, I was not offered another entree, but I didn't insist on one anyway. The potatoes were excellent, and the vegetables were good. Not a complete bust, but I doubt I'll go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
2 reviews
“Completely unsatisfactory”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Strolling down Market Street we decided to take a chance with the temptation of a free glass of wine that was offered. Salad was just the right size and dressing were good. The bread was not of good quality more like a Pillsbury bake your own and a small piece to boot not enough for two and was not asked if would like another piece. I had the ORECCHIETTE E PISELLI ,reasonable price, the waitress spilled the sauce almost on my meatballs and not the ones on the plate and just a half hearted "I'm sorry" As for the main dish the the pasta seemed to be homemade as advertised, but the sauce was too watery, salty, and the pancetta was way under cooked. My wife went the safe route and had SPAGHETTI AL POMODORO with meatballs she said it was devoid of flavor and the meatballs had a grainy texture.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinnyvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panini's Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing