We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Breakfast”
Review of Square 1682

Square 1682
Reserve with OpenTable
Square 1682 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #134 of 4,611 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th & Sansom Streets
Transit: We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.
Description: The epitome of Philadelphian cool awaits you inside Square 1682, where contemporary design, chic urban ecology, and delectable dining, meets bright, bold, and creative takes on Modern American cuisine and cocktails. Adjacent to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia in the charismatic Center City neighborhood of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682-in Kimpton fashion, has distinguished itself from the areas surrounding restaurants through presence, exceptional service, fine cuisine, and as Philadelphia's first LEED-certified green eatery and bar. Inside, you'll discover the lively exhibition kitchen where Executive Caitlin Mateo beings only the best of local and sustainable sourced ingredients together for masterfully created meals all day long. Using her culinary lens of American cuisine with world influences, the aroma of Mateo's cuisine immerses the senses the moment you walk in.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had breakfast here before checking out of the Palomar. The food was good but they were getting ready to change over to lunch and there was a fair amount of activity from the wait staff that made us feel a little rushed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CurlyCueGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hello CurlyCueGirl,
I'm glad we got you off on the right foot for breakfast! By no means though should you EVER feel rushed- we want you to be comfortable and enjoy the morning. Hopefully we'll see you soon- please don't hesitate to let me know if I can personally assist on your next trip out!

Warm Regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 358 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the associated Palomar, and the level of service there does not compare to 1682. The drinks were good, not filled appropriately for the price..a $12 kettle one martini should be to the top, not 3/4 the way. Bartender could really care less but makes a good drink. We had apps and they were INCREDIBLE so this review is more on service rather than food.

Thank SuzieQtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hello SuzieQtee!
Glad you enjoyed the food and nice drink here at Square 1682! I'd love the opportunity to connect with you regarding your experience here. Please don't hesitate to reach me at matthew.rafferty@square1682.com, or direct at (215) 525-9501. Look forward to speaking with you!

Warm Regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was a lovely restaurant. The service was excellent. The food was delicious. Not a bad word to say about it. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickandMadsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hello NickandMadsMom!
So glad you enjoyed! We hope to see you again soon, and please don't hesitate to let us know the next time you're in! Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate it.

Warm Regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Menu was much more interesting that your average lounge, bar tender/server (Dan) was excellent! Best burger in the city!

Thank jenbug812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortez M, Manager at Square 1682, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear JenBug812,

Glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at Square 1682 and that Dan was able to take great care of you. The word has been out about our burger, but now it has been confirmed. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kimpton Palomar where this hotel shares space. Hungry on a cold night we decided to check this restaurant. First and foremost I'd like to commend our server, Bob Warke who has an excellent table manner and made excellent recommendations. The Kale Caesar salad was excellent, as were the lamb BBQ ribs with Korean Sauce and the fresh tuna. Dessert was excellent, in this case the crime brûlée and assorted sorbets, including a goat cheese flavor. We were introduced to chef de cuisine Caitlin Mateo, who stopped by for our compliments and talked about sourcing the fresh produce. Bottom line is that Square 1682 is a super place to eat in downtown Philadelphia!

Thank mysterioustraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R, General Manager at Square 1682, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear mysterioustraveling,
What a wonderful experience you detailed here! I am delighted to see you had a great time, and that Caitlin and Bob took care of you. We sincerely appreciate your enthusiam towards Square 1682- we feel the same :) Please let us know when you'll be in again so we can say hi!

Warmest Regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square 1682 also viewed

 

Been to Square 1682? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing