We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal in city setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garces Trading Company

Garces Trading Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Garces Trading Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #216 of 4,317 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Locust & Quince
Description: Garces Trading Company is a gourmet market/cafe with a European flair. Perfect for a quick in-and-out or a casual sit down meal. This multi-purpose space features a host of house made and imported foods under the Garces Trading Company label including olive oils and vinegars, charcuterie and Chef Garces’ signature coffee House Specialties Paella Valenciana, El Cubano Clásico, Charcuterie & Cheese, Coq au Vin, Carbonated cocktails, fresh fruit sangrias and an extensive European wine list.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in city setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I ate here with a friend during restaurant week and had a delicious meal of four courses. The portion size of the first course varied widely depending on what was ordered. My mozzarella, handmade!, was just right, while my friend's salad could have been a meal itself. We both had good soups for the second course and steak frites for the third, all delicious. Generous servings. The down notes--our server had an overpowering cologne, which he seemed to refresh between courses. And the desserts were uninspired. On the whole a very pleasant meal in a nice setting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    88
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Went with my family during Philadelphia Restaurant Week. Nice casual atmosphere. 4 course price fixe menu. nice selections. Flatbreads were delicious as was the steak frites. My husband had the scallops. Portion could have been slightly larger. Little disappointed our waitress never offered the option of coffee with our dessert. Overall a very good restaurant with excellent food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank momofmombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I had the best sandwich there like ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

and I do mean like ever....it was the Spanish Chicken sandwich. It was literally over the top amazing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple and Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wine selection pretty good with most popular listed
You can also bring your own wine or buy from them as they have many bottles
However I think they charge a "cork" fee even if you buy the wine from them
Food is great; I got the duck. Small little piece of duck but pretty good
Definitely relaxed and casual ambiance

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mik e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had reservations for 7 pm for a party of nine and were promptly seated when we arrived. The service was fantastic and helped different range of ages and tastes in our party with food and drink selection. I started with a well-made sidecar (cognac, lemon juice, and Cointreau) but would have preferred a non-martini glass and less sugar. For appetizers we shared the Baby Artichokes, Chefs Selection of Cheeses which on our night included three cheeses two of which were goat and three sauces including a chocolate hazelnut which paired surprisingly well, and finally a selection of charcuterie. The appetizers reminded us some of the Purple Pig in Chicago. For main course, they offer both large and small plates. I had the Tuscan Fusilli Alla Carbonara which included guanicale, a soft-boiled egg, black pepper and pecorino which when mixed together was fantastic. My entire party was very satisfied with their meal which covered a wide range of the menu. We will definitely be adding this to our Philadelphia restaurant rotation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garces Trading Company also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Garces Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing