We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is not nearly as bad as the reviews indicate!!”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This place is not nearly as bad as the reviews indicate!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

OK, so its not a 5 star hotel. But for the price (we paid under $100/night) its a great deal. I booked it because the rate was right and because they offered free parking with an overnight stay plus breakfast and a shuttle to the airport. Since we were taking a 3+ week trip I asked them whether I could stay one night at each end of my trip and get free parking for the entire three weeks, and they said "yes". They were the only hotel I called that would agree to this so I booked it, although I had second thoughts due to the terrible reviews.

The place is obviously old and a bit run down. However its being fixed up. The lobby is actually quite nice and our first room was very nice as well. On our return trip the room was a little shabby, but all we wanted was a good nights' sleep and we got that. The elevators are old and have been redone with plywood walls. Pretty yucky, but they work. The halls and stairwells are dim and grubby, but not dirty.....although they do smell of cigarette smoke. The large roomy non smoking rooms we had were clean and did not smell. No hot dogs or condoms on the floors (!) and no bedbugs or roaches as mentioned in some of the reviews!!! The extra large rooms were great because we had a lot of luggage for our trip and needed to spread out and reorganize it. The mattresses are very firm......just as we like them. If you want a pillow top mattress stay somewhere else!

The staff was not particularly elegant and refined. just ordinary local folks. But they were all polite, helpful, and seemed eager to please and happy that we were there.

The continental breakfast was simple but it was fine for us and saved us the cost of breakfast.

An added bonus is that there is a 24 hour restaurant, The Penrose Diner, right across the street. It is big, bright and friendly, and has an extensive menu and good food. Its always busy (even at 4 AM when we went in after our trip because we had jet lag). The local police eat there all the time, so you knowits safe.

Our car was parked in the hotels' brightly lit parking lot for a little over 3 weeks and it was fine when we returned.

All in all I think this place is worth every penney we paid and I would recommend it if all you want is a place to spend the night in comfort and security.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    88
    136
    155
    310
See reviews for
145
182
68
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel is filthy from top to bottom. The elevators don't work properly and the bathroom is dirty. My bed had several hairs in it. I slept in my clothes. There was nothing clean about this hotel.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ckr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Sent to this hell-hole by US Airways after they cancelled my flight from Philadelphia to San Francisco at 12.30am, following a 12 hour journey from Europe. Have NEVER seen anything like this place before and thought it only existed in a Slasher Movie !!! Opened the bedroom door and my boots immediately stuck to the carpet !! Air conditioner/heating unit had two cockroaches , who had been fried on it possibly several months before. The bed cover was just too suspect to even touch but pulled the cover off to reveal one sheet, no blanket and who knows what was living under the sheets !!! One lamp for light which I left on all night to deter any bugs etc., from coming out of the corners of the room during the night !! Had to put my suitcase on top of the chair so as not to place it on the filthy bed cover or the even dirtier carpet. Wallpaper peeling off the walls everywhere because of huge damp patches on the ceiling. Pure exhaustion made me sleep ( with all my clothes on ) in this disgusting place !! Ran out of there the minute I woke up and felt like my skin was crawling !!! Would NEVER, EVER recommend this place to anybody, EVER !!!!!!!! US Airways should be ashamed of themselves for sending their customers, who they inconvenience, to this dump !!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loola2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect - but I chose the hotel because of it's price and the proximity to the Wells Fargo Center (formely Wachovia Center). The hotel is definately dated - but for $86.00 total I didn't expect luxury. There was a big dead opossum in the parking lot when we arrived. Like the past reviews said the ice maker did not work & the 2nd elevator bank is very scary. One side of the tower offers great views - However, the view on our side was terrible. The room was spacious (two double beds, table, two chairs, TV set, dresser, ceiling to wall mirrors).

The staff was very friendly. They allowed us to check-in early at no additional fee. They recommended restaurants for us to try, etc. After the front desk staff told us that the hotel shuttle was only to bring guests to & from the airport - the manger stepped in on his own & went above-and-beyond by offering to take us to the restaurant - and then going one-step further by offering to pick us up later that evening after the concert - which was great because it was so late. My toothpaste was confiscated by TSA - which I forgot about until we got back to the hotel in the early A.M. hours - the front desk gave me two things of toothpaste & a new toothbrush at no charge (the Crowne Plaza I stayed at the week before charged for both)

I recommend this hotel due to it's proximity to all the stadiums - but I recommend it even more for the great service provided by it's dedicated staff. If you're looking for more than a place to crash - you probably wouldn't be happy here - but for $86.00 - it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timessquarenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is the worst hotel!! Needs to be SHUT down by the department of health, the dont believe they even wash there sheets, bathrooms has horrible maintenance issues and no one anwsers the phones even if they are there. This hotel should NOT be in operation.. Just tear it DOWN

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,nj
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed here because it is just blocks away from the Wachovia Center where we had concert tickets and the reviews were decent. It was also inexpensive. ( Across the street is a great and very popular diner, the Penrose Restaurant/ Diner.) The lobby is attractive at the hotel but the rooms left a lot to be desired as far as cleanliness. The first thing I checked was the bed...clean sheets but a dirty bedspread...and no blanket! So even though I stripped off the bedspread initially I ended up putting it back on the bed in the middle of the night because I had the air on low and it was cold with just a sheet. The bathroom was ok, not super, and the bed was comfortable. But the carpet and table tops were dirty and stained as was the chair. Overall, as long as the bed sheets were clean...and no bed bugs!... we were willing to stay. The options for rooms under $100 are apparently limited in the area and not knowing the city at all we went by the reviews. I guess it can be said you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a night because I had to take an exam in the area. We picked this hotel because it was the best price we found for a place not far from the downtown exam site and it had everything we were looking for without additional charges: parking, internet, and breakfast. This was the good part. Oh, and I will say that most of the employees greeted me and were nice.

Now the bad part: yes, what all the other negative reviews say was confirmed when we got there. The comforter had multiple cigarette burns in our non-smoking room, the fitted sheet was not fitted, the room was dingy and not as clean as one would wish, our t.v. didn't have a remote and when we asked for one it didn't work, there was some goo and a public hair on the phone, the pool was void of water and cordoned off, etc.

This we could put up with for one night, but what really upset us was that someone kept calling our room, acting like an employee of the hotel (which we confirmed he wasn't) and trying to get us to leave our phone live and off the hook. Was he trying to hear us have sex or something? No idea, but when the front desk couldn't or wouldn't do anything about it, we had to disconnect the phone. That was pretty disconcerting.

So if you are looking for a hotel that is close to downtown and has free internet, parking, and breakfast, this is the place, but be ready for a shady experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinoagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#59 of 86 in Philadelphia
752 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
534 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Property: Penrose Hotel
Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing