We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Location”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed November 12, 2010

After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect - but I chose the hotel because of it's price and the proximity to the Wells Fargo Center (formely Wachovia Center). The hotel is definately dated - but for $86.00 total I didn't expect luxury. There was a big dead opossum in the parking lot when we arrived. Like the past reviews said the ice maker did not work & the 2nd elevator bank is very scary. One side of the tower offers great views - However, the view on our side was terrible. The room was spacious (two double beds, table, two chairs, TV set, dresser, ceiling to wall mirrors).

The staff was very friendly. They allowed us to check-in early at no additional fee. They recommended restaurants for us to try, etc. After the front desk staff told us that the hotel shuttle was only to bring guests to & from the airport - the manger stepped in on his own & went above-and-beyond by offering to take us to the restaurant - and then going one-step further by offering to pick us up later that evening after the concert - which was great because it was so late. My toothpaste was confiscated by TSA - which I forgot about until we got back to the hotel in the early A.M. hours - the front desk gave me two things of toothpaste & a new toothbrush at no charge (the Crowne Plaza I stayed at the week before charged for both)

I recommend this hotel due to it's proximity to all the stadiums - but I recommend it even more for the great service provided by it's dedicated staff. If you're looking for more than a place to crash - you probably wouldn't be happy here - but for $86.00 - it was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timessquarenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is the worst hotel!! Needs to be SHUT down by the department of health, the dont believe they even wash there sheets, bathrooms has horrible maintenance issues and no one anwsers the phones even if they are there. This hotel should NOT be in operation.. Just tear it DOWN

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ravan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed here because it is just blocks away from the Wachovia Center where we had concert tickets and the reviews were decent. It was also inexpensive. ( Across the street is a great and very popular diner, the Penrose Restaurant/ Diner.) The lobby is attractive at the hotel but the rooms left a lot to be desired as far as cleanliness. The first thing I checked was the bed...clean sheets but a dirty bedspread...and no blanket! So even though I stripped off the bedspread initially I ended up putting it back on the bed in the middle of the night because I had the air on low and it was cold with just a sheet. The bathroom was ok, not super, and the bed was comfortable. But the carpet and table tops were dirty and stained as was the chair. Overall, as long as the bed sheets were clean...and no bed bugs!... we were willing to stay. The options for rooms under $100 are apparently limited in the area and not knowing the city at all we went by the reviews. I guess it can be said you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a night because I had to take an exam in the area. We picked this hotel because it was the best price we found for a place not far from the downtown exam site and it had everything we were looking for without additional charges: parking, internet, and breakfast. This was the good part. Oh, and I will say that most of the employees greeted me and were nice.

Now the bad part: yes, what all the other negative reviews say was confirmed when we got there. The comforter had multiple cigarette burns in our non-smoking room, the fitted sheet was not fitted, the room was dingy and not as clean as one would wish, our t.v. didn't have a remote and when we asked for one it didn't work, there was some goo and a public hair on the phone, the pool was void of water and cordoned off, etc.

This we could put up with for one night, but what really upset us was that someone kept calling our room, acting like an employee of the hotel (which we confirmed he wasn't) and trying to get us to leave our phone live and off the hook. Was he trying to hear us have sex or something? No idea, but when the front desk couldn't or wouldn't do anything about it, we had to disconnect the phone. That was pretty disconcerting.

So if you are looking for a hotel that is close to downtown and has free internet, parking, and breakfast, this is the place, but be ready for a shady experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinoagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Like the other reviewer[s], we were stuck here thanks to the incompetent employees at the Philadelphia International Airport.. Earlier in the day, [August 22, 2010], there were bad electrical storms in the Philadelphia area. Because of this, there was a skeleton crew working at the airport. My family and I arrived at the airport from Cancun and had to claim our bags, clear customs and re-check our bags to make our connecting flight to Providence, RI.
Once we cleared customs we were directed to a US Airways ticket counted downstairs. Once there we waited in a long line and were told that our flight was delayed until midnight. That was fine because it was only 10:30 PM. We were then told that we wouldn't be able to board the flight because US Airways had sent the baggage handlers home and there were no TSA Agents to screen our bags, or us. Again this was at 10:30 PM in a so-called International Airport in the United States. Are you kidding me? So, our flight left without us. We were given boarding passes for the following afternoon as well as a hotel voucher to the Skyview Plaza Hotel & Suites. Well, it sure sounded nice.... yeah, right.
Like the others, we waited over an hour as we watched the two small-overcrowded shuttle vans drive past us over and over again. Once we were finally picked-up by the disgruntled employee, we were shuttled to the hotel. Two of the three clerks had no type of uniform whatsoever. Opened shirts with hairy chests and gold rope chains exposed. They looked like porno actors from the 1970's. I was delirious at this point laughing out loud as I thought, "You can't make this stuff up." I felt like I was in a Candid Camera or Punked episode. One clerk, a younger kid was neatly dressed and courteous. Luckily that's who I dealt with.
Anyway...we were checked into room #1503. Once I opened the door the odor hit me. Kinda like the odor of a men's room in a third world country soccer stadium. The so-called air conditioner was on, but blowing warm stale air. It obviously hadn't had a Freon refrigerant re-charge since around 1988. The carpet was filthy, and the comforters were ripped and riddled with cigarette burns. The windows were screwed shut and as I looked out the window I noticed that the outdoor pool was drained and barricaded with that yellow crime scene tape. God only knows what went on there.
Needless to say we checked out as soon as we woke up from our night in the urine/smoky sweatbox room. I will say that the bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled and looked kinda clean with the exception of the odor. This place really should be on TripAdvisor's top 10 list of filthiest hotels.
US Airways should reconsider sending displaced passengers to this hotel. I agree with the other reviewer; the only way this place stays in business is because of displaced passengers from the Philadelphia Airport. The Philadelphia Board of Health should inspect this place. After this experience I will avoid the Philadelphia Airport as well as US Airways. I certainly will never return to the Skyview Plaza Hotel & Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Btaz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The answer is D. All of the above. My friends and I stayed at this hotel because we had to catch a flight out of Philadelphia. Unfortunately, we didn't do our research. We found this hotel online and booked it because it was affordable and provided free parking and shuttle service to the airport. BIG MISTAKE. We arrived, checked in and headed to the room. First, the elevator on the right was out of service. Then, we got to the room to discover a filthy room with stains and an overflowing toilet. A random man knocked on the door and told us we would be moved to a room down the hall. Well that room was not any better. I was hesitant to even sit on the stained, tacky chair in the room. Clock didn't work, bathroom probably wasn't cleaned EVER, gross carpet, etc. We didn't dare shower there so we tried to just sleep. There was no chance we were putting our bodies near the comforters so we just laid there without moving, as we were certain there were bedbugs and we didn't want to rub against the sheets. Oh did I mention the dried blood stains on the sheets? We couldn't stand it anymore and left in the middle of the night because it was a better option to go sleep sitting upright at the freezing cold airport terminal. DO NOT STAY HERE. You are better off sleeping in your car, or on a sidewalk in Philly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cfol819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

USAirways recommended this hotel when I was stranded at PHL airport last night. It was so late I didn't think to review online first. This was the least expensive hotel on the list, it is 17 floors high with more rooms than their services can begin to handle. Stranded passengers waited upto 1.5 hours on shuttle bus from PHL. Man at hotel desk continued to answer the phone from stranded passengers telling them the shuttle would be there in 5 minutes, but didn't tell them that the van would be full after it's first stop for passengers and they may need to wait 1.5 hrs. I was told there was a restaurant open til 2am,24hr room service and internet access. The man at the desk said the restaurant closed early, it didn't look like it had been open in years. There was no room service or internet access. There was only scolding hot water in the shower. The upholstered chair&sofa were covered in stains. The mattress had no pad, a single twin sheet put on sideways with bare mattress exposed. Mattress and bedspread had cigarette burns. Electrical outlets shattered and broken. Carpet was disgusting. No air in building or hallways, there was an air conditioner in the room. No literature in the room about the hotel, room calls to front desk not answered. This hotel appears to survive by trapping unsuspecting stranded passengers from the PHL airport late at night who did not take time to review internet reviews. Interesting, I noticed no one standing in line had a smart phone. Now convinced I need a smart phone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinacrossakingnopad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#61 of 88 in Philadelphia
783 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#53 of 88 in Philadelphia
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
14.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $71 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing