We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Scored OK for 76'ers Games”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This very worn budget hotel is in need of an extensive renovation, especially in the public areas. But for a three day stay to attend two 76'ers games this hotel scored OK. The bed was clean and comfortable. The full bathroom was very serviceable with hot shower water. The room's heating system worked fine (it was cold in Philly). The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Room 1501 was large with a great view of the Philadelphia Sports Complex which was a safe 20 minute walk to the Wells Fargo Arena. It was odd that the room did not have a closet. No closet would prevent one from staying here for a business trip or a formal event. Several TV channels were frequently unavailable due to "Weak or No Signal" interference. The hotel's continental breakfast food looked stale but one can get a good inexpensive breakfast at the Penrose Restaurant directly across the street. The hotel is a safe 15 minute walk from the Oregon Station subway stop.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 760 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found this hotel when we were driving around Philly at 3 AM, exhausted. We were supposed to be staying at a friend's house in South Philly, but no one answered the door. It was the only hotel close by.

The concierge was very nice to us, and that was the best thing about it. It was dirty, it smelled of smoke. The humidity just made the room feel even grubbier and more tired. We needed to make a phone call to our friend, but the phone didn't work. We called the concierge, and she just said "yeah, it doesn't work sometimes." That was her answer for almost all the other questions we had.

We never found any bugs in our room, which was, hallelujah, great. However, I did find myself tip-toeing in the room and walking around in my flip flops, even in the washroom. I didn't even find a blowdryer.

The view was pretty good from my window. You could see the stadium and the bridge. The view was great but that's all there was.

The complimentary breakfast was so sad. Muffins, danishes, cereal and coffee.

It's really a shame, because the foyer was not ugly. Everything else was, though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

rooms clean. quick walk to the Linc to watch football. continental breakfast was barely breakfast. the price was decent to be near the stadium. nice diner just across the street. tv options to get other games on were sparse. front desk staff was competent. no ice available in either machine and desk's response was,' go to the bar'. not helpful. overall if going to see some football, it was worth the other not so good things.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I park here every other week or so to catch flights from PHL. I cannot comment on the hotel as I have never stayed here, but the airport parking system is very good and possibly the least expensive around. The front desk staff are competent, their new Mercedes Benz bus is comfortable and the drivers are very professional. Gentleman named Trey usually transports me to the airport. He is prompt, courteous and friendly. I highly recommend this service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rikirini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I picked this place because I was on a budget. Refurbishment began while we were there but no advance warning. The rooms were quite grubby, my feet were blacker after walking around from the shower than they were before I got in. Other guests were drunk and shouting all night. The non smoking room stank of smoke. But it was perfectly located for Wells Fargo, transport to the city and a decent diner over the road

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank stooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but this place is decent for the price and location. The rooms were relatively clean. TV and furniture were up to date. No frills, but didn't expect too much. Location is a close walk to the Sports/Entertainment Complex. No complaints here

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adschnei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is by no means a luxury hotel, but as a cheap place to spend the night after attending a concert at the Wells Fargo Center it served its purpose. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the arena/stadium complex, and a 15 minute walk from the Oregon subway station on the Broad Street Line. The place is old, musty, and definitely past it's prime, but the room was clean, the staff friendly enough, and the location and price were right. I wouldn't want to spend a week here, but for a night it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJKNYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#62 of 88 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#56 of 88 in Philadelphia
558 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, 2015 Penrose Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $75 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing