We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It served its purpose”
Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is by no means a luxury hotel, but as a cheap place to spend the night after attending a concert at the Wells Fargo Center it served its purpose. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the arena/stadium complex, and a 15 minute walk from the Oregon subway station on the Broad Street Line. The place is old, musty, and definitely past it's prime, but the room was clean, the staff friendly enough, and the location and price were right. I wouldn't want to spend a week here, but for a night it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJKNYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 755 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can realy see that kind of crazy stuff going on here.
Old, outdated, musty & grubby. The carpets were stained bad. There was all kinds of construction debris under the air conditioner in our room, seemes like the entire place was in various stages of "updates" and disaray such as the lobby was getting new drywall on the columns, the bathrrom in our room had a newer style sink and countertop but the shower was old and dirty and the plumbing fixtures on the tub were so loose they were flopping around on the wall as you tried to turn the water on. The elevators are beat up, the whole place is beat up really. It was cheap though but not worth it for me. I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend it unless you're 21 and just want a place to party after a concert, get trashed and pass out then this is the perfect place to do it.
$81.70 for one night tax included.
Cheap+Dumpy=You get what you pay for

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlaJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

As a college student, this hotel was great for me.
-ROOM & BUILDING ITSELF (8 points out of 10)
I stayed with three friends, and we all fit just fine in a double bedroom. The size of the room is quite big, very spacious, although the bathroom is a bit small. The beds are clean, the tables are clean, the bathrooms are clean. Yes, the hotel IS a bit old, but it is clean and the staff are fine. There is a smell of old wood, and the doors are a bit creaky but really, the hotel is clean overall.
-FOOD (5/10)
Now, the breakfast is not great. I'd give it a 5 out of 10 just because it has enough things to fill you up (milk, cereal, muffins, toast, butter,jelly, orange juice and coffee), but it is very limited. For me it was just fine because I'm not very picky about food (even less picky if it's for breakfast), but there is a WONDERFUL dinner just across the street.
-LOCATION (6/10)
It is kind of far away from the City Hall(the Centric part of Philadelphia), but it is just 15 minutes from the airport (by car). My friends and I walked to the subway station everyday (a 20-25 minute walk), and took the subway (orange line, towards the North) to the City Hall Station. The train ride is like 10 minutes. However, I would recommend not walking at night back to the hotel. Not because something will happen to you, but just for safety and peace of mind. The cab ride is 6 dollars plus the 3-dollar tip that I used to give it was 9 dollars total. Not bad at all.

Room Tip: The beds are Queen size and they are totally fine to share. My bed-mate and I did not bother each ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

When we first arrived at the airport, the front desk kept us on hold for 20 minutes. The hotel was dirty, only had 1 ice machine, that quit working after day 2. The girl at the front desk acted like she was bothered every time we asked a question. The view from the room was great though, and the only bright spot was Reggie who ran the Bar/Grill downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordant22780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

remarks before our booking were mediocre.hot,bugs in bed.WE had room 1109, great view, west side, not hot even w/o airconditioning on. newly renovated, new beds/matresses, very clean. bathtub armatures were stone age and hot/cold water finetuning an adventure. reception very helpful, fast and customer oriented, extremely friendly. wlan only on reception level, in-room had been better. breakfast poor (corn flakes, milk, coffee/tea, toast, butter,...)
but Penrose Rst other side of the street offering everything for breakfast and skyview wlan was accessible there in 50 % of the restaurant.
their bar/restaurant could advertise better, until the 2nd day we didn´t know, they had one.

Room Tip: see comment above, ask for newly renovated, north/west side, highest floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weichstaedt217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is a good hotel within a few minutes walking distance of the bus stop into town. The rooms are great, unfortunately the breakfast is poor and they are always rushing to clear it away. The view of the sports stadiums and the city was fantastic from our rooms. It is probably the best value for money hotel in Philly. The only drawback was that the desk staff always seemed very tired and lethargic (often sleeping in the back room) so the service wasn't great compared to most other hotels. The other problem was that even in the lobby the WiFi was often poor - it didn't stretch to our room on the 9th floor.

Across the street the Chinese restaurant did great value food and also sells alcohol which was perfect for relaxing in the room. The other restaurant on the corner was always busy every day so must be very popular, but I didn't get chance to try it so can't vouch.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't know why this place had so many negative reviews. For weeks leading up to our arrival here were were mentally preparing ourselves for what we had pre-emptively nicknamed 'The Rat-hole".
On our arrival we were very pleasantly surprised. It was a little dated, but it was clear that they were in the process of updating the place. The rooms were comfortable, large, clean, tidy and easy to access.
Due to it's great location close to the subway system and with a fantastic diner across the road I would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling through Philly.
Only concern that was echoed through the other reviews is the slow front-desk service (particularly from the balding chap). We waited about 20min to collect our bags before heading off to the airport, and when checking in initially there was a line of about 4-5 other patrons in front of us.
Also, the breakfast attendant was quite rude to patrons and was quick to put everything away once 10am rolled around.
Don't get me wrong, on weekends, this place may be full of a couple of dodgy characters or a group of med students on a get-away booze-up, but the rooms are well sound insulated and it was never an issue at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#62 of 88 in Philadelphia
783 reviews
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#53 of 88 in Philadelphia
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
14.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $71 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing