We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth any cent spent !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose Hotel
Ranked #75 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Iowa, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth any cent spent !”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really don't get it why this hotel is ranked in overall with only 2 stars ? I personally not doing reviews, but when i accidentally saw reviews here about Skyview Plaza, decided to perform it. I spent 2 days with my wife last weekend, and i can say that is perfect fit for your budget, and honestly, they offer much more for the price you paid. Every part of my room was clear, beds, blankets, toilet, carpet, light bulbs, you have a free WiFi, too. Workers are friendly, willing to help you with anything you need. Food is also pretty good for my taste. Restaurant and bar are also very decent. The thing in which me and my wife enjoyed are view from the hotel, especially at night. Another good thing is that hotel have a good location, practically places in the center of many attractions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    86
    134
    153
    302
See reviews for
145
174
67
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
park ridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well reading all the negative reviews I was paranoid about this place but let me tell you for the money it was perfect .smelled clean when we got there so that's a good sign.the furniture can be updated but all and all good place for the buck..by the way wells Fargo center was close and maroon5 was excellent .don't be afraid to book it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsacParkRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean, decent veiws from our room. Wallpaper on on wall in our room was peeling off, but other than that, its a god place to stay for an overnight trip. We went to see the Flyers, and the Stadium is only 5 minutes away! Also great diner right across the street!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OwlLover2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldred, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked two rooms for the weekend. Reviews had me worried but our stay went well. Rooms were clean and service was fine for the location and price was definitely reasonable. Would book here again when needing to be downtown for a sporting event or otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were looking for a hotel within walking distance of the Eagle's stadium that was cheap. This was the only place around. In hindsight, I would've coughed up the extra money for a different hotel. They did allow us to check in early, but the room they gave us was not ready. There was used soap and towels in the bathroom, the beds weren't made and there was trash still in the trashcans. We asked for another room and they promptly found a new one for us that was made up. But, like many others have stated, there was mold in the bathroom, the carpet was dirty and we slept in our clothes. At the front desk, the two attendants could not tell us which way to walk to the stadium (even though it's only a few blocks away). They did offer to look it up on the internet though, at which time I declined since I could use my smart phone. All in all, if you need to be in this area and you really can't afford anything else, this works in a pinch, but I really would've rather paid up to $250/night instead of staying here. It would've been worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank widget_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

i book 5 rooms on 11/16/12 at this hotel so that we could go for the run on 11/17/12 the two girls at the front desk where pretty fast and the headhousekeeper where very helpful everything we ask for she gave us. We got in our rooms fast and they where very clean we where a little afraid because so of the reviews but our rooms where all the same the bathroom where very clean the shower work and the heat. the only thing i didn't see was a pen or a writen pad or lotion or hair dryer but we called down for one and that same nice hhsk brought one right away im sorry i didn't get her name because she where a very nice lady would stay here a again yes

Room Tip: we stayed on the 9th floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#60 of 85 in Philadelphia
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
517 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
3.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Hotel

Property: Penrose Hotel
Address: 2033 Penrose Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19145-5623 (Formerly Ramada Philadelphia City Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penrose Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyview Plaza Hotel Philadelphia
Skyview Plaza Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing